2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (anotherscott, 20/20 Vision, 36251, bcalvanese, 1957, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 8 invisible), 1,397 guests, and 310 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
Hello all,

I thought other piano teachers would find this interesting, a thesis from the same University I did my Bachelor of Music at - there is a strong presence in piano pedagogy there owing to the research laboratory that was installed during my degree roughly a decade ago.

http://web5.uottawa.ca/www9/pianola...ions/Methods/Lu_Yuanyuan_2012_thesis.pdf

For those curious here is a link to the lab itself.
http://web5.uottawa.ca/www9/pianolab/?page_id=180

I am curious to know the impressions of others, as, having a knack for software development I discovered during that degree (leading to a 2nd degree in computer science), I am developing new piano learning software that is being designed to be the ultimate methodology in efficiency and interactivity.

I am curious as to the opinions of other teachers as to what the "ideal piano method series" would look like. I am aware that pacing is probably the primary issue, as many of the old methods did not have this quality and would jump in complexity without warning.

M
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
M