2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, danno858, benkeys, brennbaer, DaCapoDiTuttiCapi, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, 11 invisible), 1,854 guests, and 328 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
OP Offline
R
Greetings,

I'm very new to the piano world. My mother played. I don't.

A hockey teammate of mine is getting married and, in preparing for a move, has to get rid of a Vose and Sons upright piano.

I've scheduled the piano to be moved by a piano moving business.

I've attached a photo. Some of the corners could use some refinishing, but I'm told the keys and pedals work and the piano needs to be tuned. I'm also told the keys are ivory. Until I have the piano and can look for the serial number, I won't be able to lock down on the age, but I was hoping someone here might have an idea, of a range (or not, if pianos all look the same over the years).

This piano is free, which, to me at least, seems like a pretty good deal.

Thanks for your help,
Ryan

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Last edited by RT White; 08/27/14 11:03 AM.
E
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
E
Welcome to Piano World!

The case looks very similar to one I regularly tune, which was made in 1900. If in good condition internally, Vose uprights of that vintage can be extremely nice pianos.

Eric Gloo
Piano Technician
Certified Dampp-Chaser Installer
Richfield Springs, New York
R
OP Offline
R
Thanks for the response Eric. I'm looking forward to actually getting the piano and seeing it with my own eyes.