2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
54 members (c++, DigitalSpace, bwv872, Drthotho, Beowulf, anotherscott, 36251, crooow, 10 invisible), 497 guests, and 433 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Playing the Avant Grandes & CLP585
#2314384 08/12/14 03:40 AM
C
OP Offline
C
Recently spent some time at Yamaha in London playing these, and my thoughts were: (I'm a reasonably serious classical pianist)

The sound of the CLP585 is definitely better than all the predecessors I've played, and if I was limited by budget, I'd definitely go for this over the other DP contenders.

The touch to my mind is unfortunately no better than the 480, and really stopped me considering this further... so I turned to the Avant Grandes and the NU1.

The NU1 clearly had the best sound engine, but whether it's snobbery or real playing constraints, I don't think I'd be happy with an upright action.

The N2/3 are again clearly ahead of the N1, mainly in terms of sound performance - the TSR or whatever it is on the N2/3 does present added value, but probably not enough alone to justify the price hikes over the N1. When you add in the sound performance (largely speaker performance I accept) I personally felt that the N2 presents the best option. After an hour on the N2, I crossed the room to play on a Yamaha C7 that happened to be up there. Maybe it was a poor example, but I can honestly say I preferred playing the N2.