2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, brennbaer, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 11 invisible), 1,867 guests, and 330 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2306639 07/24/14 06:02 PM
OP Offline
Hi Forum,
I've been composing for the past six years or so and I've made it a personal goal of mine to write some music that eventually becomes common repertoire among advanced piano students. I've made an effort to get other young pianists in my community playing my music, but I feel like this will not get me very far in the long run. To begin my compositional journey, I want to try and publish and/or print my music in some sort of a book, whether it be a compilation of other musicians works that includes one of mine, or a thin booklet containing one or two of my pieces. My question for you guys is, how do I even begin trying to do this? Do I just send out recordings and pdf's of my compositions to publishing company after publishing company until I finally get something published? Are there any companies you could recommend that specifically look for contemporary works by modern day composers? Do I need some sort of credentials from a conservatory (because I'm still a high school student), or will they willingly listen to and give my music a chance?

Thank You,
William

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
www.musica-ferrum.com

It's my publishing house. Quite small at this moment, but also quite promising.

No promises though about your works.