2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (HZPiano, admodios, johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., Joseph Fleetwood, 7 invisible), 1,274 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Plopsy Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi all, this is my first topic on the forum, though I've been lurking for a while!

I'm only a beginner, playing for a few months. I've only had a couple of lessons and no one near me do lessons during the summer so I'll have to make do with teaching myself for a while more.

This week I decided to see how I fare with Beethoven's moonlight sonata, and the first twelve measures are no problem. Until I get to measure 13 and 14 and I see these:

[Linked Image]

Now perhaps I have really small hands, but the furthest my hands can span comfortably is one octave, so I can only assume that most of the bass clef notes are played with the right hand? (If anyone has any insights I'd love to know!)

Would I be at a big disadvantage only being able to play one octave?

How far can ye all reach?

Last edited by Plopsy; 07/24/14 05:06 PM. Reason: Sonata not symphony!
S
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
S
You play the triplets with your right hand. Then you don't need a reach wider than an octave (well, not here, anyway ... there are couple of places in that piece that do require a slightly wider reach).

FYI (though I suspect it's just a typo): this is the first movement of a sonata, not a symphony smile.

Plodding through piano music at a frustratingly slow pace since 9/2012.