2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 14 invisible), 2,139 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
MZCT Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hello,

I started learning piano a few years ago. I was consistent with my practicing and learning for about 14 months until i moved away for a couple of years. I am back now and am eager to rekindle my mission to learn piano.

My main interest is composition, chord progressions and just having the knowledge to make my own songs so i can record with my friends for fun.

As of now i have a basic understanding of major scales, can kinda read music (although i am slow at it) and know the main triad/chords.

I started playing mainly czerny/hanon/bergmuller and occasionally tried to work out songs by myself although would get frustrated within an hour and quit.

As of now my basic practice day is go through some scales to warm up or some hanon exercises. Then go to a basic czerny piece i am learning, then later on try and write something id like. I get frustrated because i am not sure whether learning pieces like czerny help me learn how to play/write songs like D'angelo,Marvin Gaye or Bon Iver. I then get frustrated because when i try to write my own music i feel like i cant play piano so go back to the czerny pieces and then get frustrated all over again - a vicious cycle.