2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
30 members (FloRi89, EVC2017, CyberGene, Greta99, clothearednincompo, 1957, Hammertime, Chouca, Deltajockey, 8 invisible), 406 guests, and 346 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 6 of 12 1 2 4 5 6 7 8 11 12
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
dewster #2296745 06/29/14 09:51 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,225
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,225
Originally Posted by dewster
Originally Posted by Marko in Boston
But we are a tough crew here on the forum and these reps have to have a thick skin when we bitch about their products not measuring up to our perfect standards. But it is clear that we all appreciate and respect James and Mike. Same should go for Jay.


Reps often take criticism toward a product they represent personally, which I find rather odd. When you make products, all criticism is good criticism, and when those who have bought your products in the past, or stand a good chance of buying your products in the future, take the time to raise issues with them, I think you're crazy not to listen. So I don't get it when reps get a case of butthurt, or act to shut down debate. I can only suppose that this kind of talk gets dealt with harshly inside closed doors, and they are acting reflexively.


Just for the record, I wasn't butthurt about the criticism of the product. I can handle that. I was and am unhappy that I was accused of spinning. Spin is not what I do. Never have, never will.

Roland is far more receptive to feedback than we are given credit for. It's easy for someone to post something on a forum, have nothing happen as a result, and scream that Roland doesn't listen.

Like every company, we have official feedback channels, and outside those channels it's near impossible for the engineers to be all over the internet every day. They are busy writing software, designing, and doing the things that need to get done so you can have both new products and improvements to existing products.

So if you have a suggestion to improve a product, or a bug report, send it to the branch of Roland Support in your country so Japan can actually access it and do something about it. It helps everybody.

Jay


Formerly in the business. Now just a piano fan.
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2296749 06/29/14 09:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 16,883
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 16,883
Very well said!


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 & occasional rare groove player.

"I agree that the User Manual is very good." - arc7urus, March 2019
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2296761 06/29/14 10:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,314
S
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
S
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,314
Jay,
Regarding digital output - my application would be for recording into a DAW. (yes, I have a good quality audio interface, with balanced inputs too, but I'd just prefer to record digitally. It's not a showstopper though) I know I could import pre-recorded WAV from the RD too.

Greg.

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2296768 06/29/14 10:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 442
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 442
@Greg, maybe I'm confused, but why not simply use the midi output for your purposes?


Keys: Yamaha GC2, Casio Privia PX-3, Roland RD800, Alesis VI61, Pianoteq 6.0
My motto: Play and Let Play!
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2296771 06/29/14 11:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,314
S
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
S
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,314
Petes1: This would be to record the audio signal of the RD800, so I don't understand how MIDI will help.

Btw, I was wrong - it seems that stage pianos simply don't have digital audio outputs - the only one I've found so far is the V-Piano.

Greg.

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2296792 06/30/14 12:47 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
D
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
D
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Yeah bypassing the internal DAC's of ALL boards to get direct digital output would be a very good thing. But sadly few boards have this.


"I'm still an idiot and I'm still in love" - Blue Sofa - The Plugz 1981 (Tito Larriva)
Disclosure : I am professionally associated with Arturia but my sentiments are my own only.
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Dr Popper #2296795 06/30/14 01:08 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 66
G
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
G
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 66
You would not be bypassing the internal DACs.. you would be bypassing the analog output stage.......

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
GWILLY #2296796 06/30/14 01:13 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,751
T
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,751
Originally Posted by GWILLY
You would not be bypassing the internal DACs.. you would be bypassing the analog output stage.......


How do you get an analogue input without a DAC?


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / Native Instruments K9 ult / ESQL MOR2 Symph Orchestra & Choirs / Lucato & Parravicini , trumpets & saxes / Garritan CFX lite / Production Voices C7 & Steinway D compact

Focusrite Saffire 24 / W7, i7 4770, 16GB / MXL V67g / Yamaha HS7s / HD598
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2296797 06/30/14 01:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 66
G
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
G
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 66
We are talking output, not input :):)

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
GWILLY #2296799 06/30/14 01:21 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 16,883
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 16,883
Originally Posted by GWILLY
We are talking output, not input :):)


The digital audio produced by the tone generator must still be converted to analogue in order to be output via the 1/4" and XLR jacks.


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 & occasional rare groove player.

"I agree that the User Manual is very good." - arc7urus, March 2019
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Kawai James #2296858 06/30/14 07:19 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,751
T
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,751
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Originally Posted by GWILLY
We are talking output, not input :):)


The digital audio produced by the tone generator must still be converted to analogue in order to be output via the 1/4" and XLR jacks.


....and, hence, input (or if your prefer put in to an external device smile


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / Native Instruments K9 ult / ESQL MOR2 Symph Orchestra & Choirs / Lucato & Parravicini , trumpets & saxes / Garritan CFX lite / Production Voices C7 & Steinway D compact

Focusrite Saffire 24 / W7, i7 4770, 16GB / MXL V67g / Yamaha HS7s / HD598
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2296881 06/30/14 08:36 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,314
S
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
S
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,314
Dr Popper's comment:
Originally Posted by Dr Popper
Yeah bypassing the internal DAC's of ALL boards to get direct digital output would be a very good thing. But sadly few boards have this.


was 100% correct - a digital audio output makes the digital representation of the tone generator available, bypassing the internal Digital To Analog Converters (DACs).

Greg.

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2297649 07/02/14 09:17 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 167
T
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
T
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 167
I bought the 800 right when it came out being confident that it would be the best DP in that particular category. I've played it daily for serveral months now, gigged it at large pro venues but also at smaller parties without a sound guy using only the pa front.

It is hands down the best sounding piano I've come across. So inspiring, rich and lively. I'm using 3 different patches as my main pianos regarding of what I'm playing. The first concert grand is probably my favourite. I gave it some tweaking (mainly adding hammer noise and symp. res. and eq'ing down the bass and lower mid) to make it come more alive. This is great for really filling up the room.

The Studio Grand is another favorite for sounding natural, clean and real. This one needs a little more body in the lower part so I turned up the bass a bit and also added some sympathetic res to get that ambient feeling where you tend to play less notes. On most digitals it's quite the opposite- you're striking too many notes to keep the sound from dying out.

For this Coldplay band I play in, I use the mellow brilliant grand which has that upright ringing sound. Turned up the hammer noise and added lot's of reverb and sym res for this one. Sounds fantastic with the soft pedal pressed down. The new Supernatural Upright is totally disappointing so really prefer the Brilliant for this purpose.

Key action is really good and quiet

One negative thing is the shape/construction. It looks cool but is a disaster to carry and feels a bit fragile. Another is off course the whole power socket issue and the fact that all the inserts and outputs are hard to find/see if you operate from the front side.








Roland RD800, EV ZXA-1.
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
thomsurf #2297660 07/02/14 09:47 AM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 51
C
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
C
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 51
Originally Posted by thomsurf
One negative thing is the shape/construction. It looks cool but is a disaster to carry and feels a bit fragile. Another is off course the whole power socket issue and the fact that all the inserts and outputs are hard to find/see if you operate from the front side.

Absolutely, yes. I bought one recently and am still getting used to it. The fact that you can't plug in from the front of the keyboard without contorting yourself is a step backwards (I think).

I've mentioned before that it's ironic that the most rudimentary of things seem to have let Roland down when they advertise that they know how to make stage pianos. Spent 25 years making them, yet they can't make them easy to get on stage and plug up.

Otherwise, yes. Wonderful sounds, brilliant action. Still trying to find the right setup for my gigging, but that's largely because there's a lot more options. It already sounds so much better off the bat from previous keys, but now there are more options and sounds to play with.

Personally I like the upright piano. Haven't used it in anger yet, but when I've switched to it I'm always tempted to try some Let It Be.

I don't know whether it's because there are more options, but I found the interface on my old A90 much more intuitive to navigate. Still getting used to holding down a button and pressing shift/exit to edit it. Used to be able to pull out new patches by typing in a number and pressing enter when I needed it. Now it seems to be a two handed affair, or scrolling through a wheel - not as stage-friendly. Still wading through the instructions though, so I'm probably missing something.

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2299145 07/06/14 11:50 AM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
B
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
B
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
I often like to layer two E.Organs, for example two identical Rock Organs, with the second an octave lower, which I can fade it in/out as required.

On my RD-700, the 'Rotary' multi-effects knob toggles the SLOW/FAST speed on all organ assigned to layers (Upper 1, 2 & Lower), which makes sense.

However, on the RD-800, I haven't found a way to toggle the 'Rotary' SLOW/FAST speed on multiple layers either using the Tremolo 'Rate' knob, or assigning the control to assignable switches S1 & S2.

The option for TR/AMP in the 'Layer Edit' can only be set for one layer, i.e. it's a radio button rather than a tick box.

Yes, you can can change SLOW/FAST speed for the second layer in the 'Designer Menu', but then there is no way to toggle the speed for this layer whilst playing.

Any ideas would be appreciated?


Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2299150 07/06/14 12:21 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,460
M
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
M
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,460
I will check it on mine later today. If not an on-board option perhaps the the Roland EV-5 Expression Pedal might be a good alternative. Do you already have one?

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2299159 07/06/14 01:27 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
B
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
B
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Hi Marko, yes I use am EV-5, it's connected to the EXT port, which is assigned as the default expression port.

Connecting the EV-5 or DP10 to FC1 or FC2, and then assigning this to 'Rotary', still only switches the speed on the one layer.


Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
Marko in Boston #2299166 07/06/14 01:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,225
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,225
I had a customer ask me this last week. I've been away from my RD on vacation though. I thought we had accomplished it. But for the lief of me cannot remember how.

I'm back to work on Tuesday. Let me go through my notes, and see what we did.

Jay


Formerly in the business. Now just a piano fan.
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
JayGVan #2299835 07/08/14 11:30 AM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
B
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
B
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Originally Posted by Jay Roland
I had a customer ask me this last week. I've been away from my RD on vacation though. I thought we had accomplished it. But for the lief of me cannot remember how.

I'm back to work on Tuesday. Let me go through my notes, and see what we did.

Jay

Thanks Jay, hoping you find out how you accomplished this from your notes.

On a related matter, do you know why Roland programmed the E.ORGAN's on tone bank 5, numbers 265-322, with their 'Tremolo/Amp Simulator' setting on '[1] Normal' instead of '[5] Rotary', which would have been more logical for E.ORGAN's.

The 10 'Tone Wheel Organs' (255-264) are fine, with 'Rotary' as the default.


Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD
bgiles #2299948 07/08/14 05:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,225
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,225
Originally Posted by bgiles
Originally Posted by Jay Roland
I had a customer ask me this last week. I've been away from my RD on vacation though. I thought we had accomplished it. But for the lief of me cannot remember how.

I'm back to work on Tuesday. Let me go through my notes, and see what we did.

Jay

Thanks Jay, hoping you find out how you accomplished this from your notes.

On a related matter, do you know why Roland programmed the E.ORGAN's on tone bank 5, numbers 265-322, with their 'Tremolo/Amp Simulator' setting on '[1] Normal' instead of '[5] Rotary', which would have been more logical for E.ORGAN's.

The 10 'Tone Wheel Organs' (255-264) are fine, with 'Rotary' as the default.


No, we were working on something totally different according to my notes, although still organ related. (Sorry my brain is a bit overloaded as I'm back to office today with over a week away) Looks like the Rotary effect can only be assigned to one layer at a time.

With regards to the other stuff bgiles, can you feed that back to Roland UK so Roland Japan can hear about it? There might be a good reason why they did the effects assignment that way, or they may be able to change it via firmware update. It's best that it comes from the branch of Roland in your country though.

Jay


Formerly in the business. Now just a piano fan.
Page 6 of 12 1 2 4 5 6 7 8 11 12

Moderated by  Piano World 

Link Copied to Clipboard
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Karsten Collection
(ad)
PianoDisc

PianoDisc
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Mason & Hamlin Pianos
What's Hot!!
News from the Piano World
Our October 2020 Free Piano Newsletter is Here!
---------------------
3,000,000+!
------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Key Linkage, instead of Key Pivot ?
by Charles Cohen - 10/24/20 09:02 PM
Thumping sound from keys
by MsTwinkle - 10/24/20 06:48 PM
Korg D1 fault
by MrButcher - 10/24/20 04:41 PM
Counting sixteenth notes
by Prestzie - 10/24/20 02:09 PM
Download Sheet Music
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics202,387
Posts3,016,853
Members99,010
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers


Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads



 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2020 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4