Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Who's Online Now
127 registered members (Álvaro, anotherscott, ando, AZNpiano, 36251, AnnInMiami, Bett, 32 invisible), 3,455 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 6 of 12 1 2 4 5 6 7 8 11 12
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: dewster] #2296745
06/29/14 09:51 PM
06/29/14 09:51 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,217
Vancouver, BC
JayGVan Offline
1000 Post Club Member
JayGVan  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,217
Vancouver, BC
Originally Posted by dewster
Originally Posted by Marko in Boston
But we are a tough crew here on the forum and these reps have to have a thick skin when we bitch about their products not measuring up to our perfect standards. But it is clear that we all appreciate and respect James and Mike. Same should go for Jay.


Reps often take criticism toward a product they represent personally, which I find rather odd. When you make products, all criticism is good criticism, and when those who have bought your products in the past, or stand a good chance of buying your products in the future, take the time to raise issues with them, I think you're crazy not to listen. So I don't get it when reps get a case of butthurt, or act to shut down debate. I can only suppose that this kind of talk gets dealt with harshly inside closed doors, and they are acting reflexively.


Just for the record, I wasn't butthurt about the criticism of the product. I can handle that. I was and am unhappy that I was accused of spinning. Spin is not what I do. Never have, never will.

Roland is far more receptive to feedback than we are given credit for. It's easy for someone to post something on a forum, have nothing happen as a result, and scream that Roland doesn't listen.

Like every company, we have official feedback channels, and outside those channels it's near impossible for the engineers to be all over the internet every day. They are busy writing software, designing, and doing the things that need to get done so you can have both new products and improvements to existing products.

So if you have a suggestion to improve a product, or a bug report, send it to the branch of Roland Support in your country so Japan can actually access it and do something about it. It helps everybody.

Jay


Formerly in the business. Now just a piano fan.
(ad) SWEETWATER Lowest Prices
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2296749
06/29/14 09:56 PM
06/29/14 09:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 15,497
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 15,497
Hamamatsu, Japan
Very well said!


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 & occasional rare groove player.

"I agree that the User Manual is very good." - arc7urus, March 2019
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2296761
06/29/14 10:38 PM
06/29/14 10:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,164
Sydney, Australia
S
sullivang Offline
3000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
S

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,164
Sydney, Australia
Jay,
Regarding digital output - my application would be for recording into a DAW. (yes, I have a good quality audio interface, with balanced inputs too, but I'd just prefer to record digitally. It's not a showstopper though) I know I could import pre-recorded WAV from the RD too.

Greg.

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2296768
06/29/14 10:59 PM
06/29/14 10:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
petes1 Offline
Full Member
petes1  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
@Greg, maybe I'm confused, but why not simply use the midi output for your purposes?


Keys: Yamaha GC2, Casio Privia PX-3, Roland RD800, Alesis VI61, Pianoteq 6.0
My motto: Play and Let Play!
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2296771
06/29/14 11:04 PM
06/29/14 11:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,164
Sydney, Australia
S
sullivang Offline
3000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
S

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,164
Sydney, Australia
Petes1: This would be to record the audio signal of the RD800, so I don't understand how MIDI will help.

Btw, I was wrong - it seems that stage pianos simply don't have digital audio outputs - the only one I've found so far is the V-Piano.

Greg.

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2296792
06/30/14 12:47 AM
06/30/14 12:47 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Hancock Park LA (not again)
D
Dr Popper Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Dr Popper  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
D

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Hancock Park LA (not again)
Yeah bypassing the internal DAC's of ALL boards to get direct digital output would be a very good thing. But sadly few boards have this.


"I'm still an idiot and I'm still in love" - Blue Sofa - The Plugz 1981 (Tito Larriva)
Disclosure : I am professionally associated with Arturia but my sentiments are my own only.
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Dr Popper] #2296795
06/30/14 01:08 AM
06/30/14 01:08 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 60
G
GWILLY Offline
Full Member
GWILLY  Offline
Full Member
G

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 60
You would not be bypassing the internal DACs.. you would be bypassing the analog output stage.......

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: GWILLY] #2296796
06/30/14 01:13 AM
06/30/14 01:13 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,747
Portugal
T
toddy Online content
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Online Content
3000 Post Club Member
T

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,747
Portugal
Originally Posted by GWILLY
You would not be bypassing the internal DACs.. you would be bypassing the analog output stage.......


How do you get an analogue input without a DAC?


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / Native Instruments K9 ult / ESQL MOR2 Symph Orchestra & Choirs / Lucato & Parravicini , trumpets & saxes / Garritan CFX lite / Production Voices C7 & Steinway D compact

Focusrite Saffire 24 / W7, i7 4770, 16GB / MXL V67g / Yamaha HS7s / HD598
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2296797
06/30/14 01:16 AM
06/30/14 01:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 60
G
GWILLY Offline
Full Member
GWILLY  Offline
Full Member
G

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 60
We are talking output, not input :):)

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: GWILLY] #2296799
06/30/14 01:21 AM
06/30/14 01:21 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 15,497
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 15,497
Hamamatsu, Japan
Originally Posted by GWILLY
We are talking output, not input :):)


The digital audio produced by the tone generator must still be converted to analogue in order to be output via the 1/4" and XLR jacks.


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 & occasional rare groove player.

"I agree that the User Manual is very good." - arc7urus, March 2019
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Kawai James] #2296858
06/30/14 07:19 AM
06/30/14 07:19 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,747
Portugal
T
toddy Online content
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Online Content
3000 Post Club Member
T

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,747
Portugal
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Originally Posted by GWILLY
We are talking output, not input :):)


The digital audio produced by the tone generator must still be converted to analogue in order to be output via the 1/4" and XLR jacks.


....and, hence, input (or if your prefer put in to an external device smile


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / Native Instruments K9 ult / ESQL MOR2 Symph Orchestra & Choirs / Lucato & Parravicini , trumpets & saxes / Garritan CFX lite / Production Voices C7 & Steinway D compact

Focusrite Saffire 24 / W7, i7 4770, 16GB / MXL V67g / Yamaha HS7s / HD598
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2296881
06/30/14 08:36 AM
06/30/14 08:36 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,164
Sydney, Australia
S
sullivang Offline
3000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
S

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,164
Sydney, Australia
Dr Popper's comment:
Originally Posted by Dr Popper
Yeah bypassing the internal DAC's of ALL boards to get direct digital output would be a very good thing. But sadly few boards have this.


was 100% correct - a digital audio output makes the digital representation of the tone generator available, bypassing the internal Digital To Analog Converters (DACs).

Greg.

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2297649
07/02/14 09:17 AM
07/02/14 09:17 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 167
Copenhagen, Denmark
T
thomsurf Offline
Full Member
thomsurf  Offline
Full Member
T

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 167
Copenhagen, Denmark
I bought the 800 right when it came out being confident that it would be the best DP in that particular category. I've played it daily for serveral months now, gigged it at large pro venues but also at smaller parties without a sound guy using only the pa front.

It is hands down the best sounding piano I've come across. So inspiring, rich and lively. I'm using 3 different patches as my main pianos regarding of what I'm playing. The first concert grand is probably my favourite. I gave it some tweaking (mainly adding hammer noise and symp. res. and eq'ing down the bass and lower mid) to make it come more alive. This is great for really filling up the room.

The Studio Grand is another favorite for sounding natural, clean and real. This one needs a little more body in the lower part so I turned up the bass a bit and also added some sympathetic res to get that ambient feeling where you tend to play less notes. On most digitals it's quite the opposite- you're striking too many notes to keep the sound from dying out.

For this Coldplay band I play in, I use the mellow brilliant grand which has that upright ringing sound. Turned up the hammer noise and added lot's of reverb and sym res for this one. Sounds fantastic with the soft pedal pressed down. The new Supernatural Upright is totally disappointing so really prefer the Brilliant for this purpose.

Key action is really good and quiet

One negative thing is the shape/construction. It looks cool but is a disaster to carry and feels a bit fragile. Another is off course the whole power socket issue and the fact that all the inserts and outputs are hard to find/see if you operate from the front side.








Roland RD800, EV ZXA-1.
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: thomsurf] #2297660
07/02/14 09:47 AM
07/02/14 09:47 AM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Peterborough, UK
C
Cessquill Offline
Full Member
Cessquill  Offline
Full Member
C

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Peterborough, UK
Originally Posted by thomsurf
One negative thing is the shape/construction. It looks cool but is a disaster to carry and feels a bit fragile. Another is off course the whole power socket issue and the fact that all the inserts and outputs are hard to find/see if you operate from the front side.

Absolutely, yes. I bought one recently and am still getting used to it. The fact that you can't plug in from the front of the keyboard without contorting yourself is a step backwards (I think).

I've mentioned before that it's ironic that the most rudimentary of things seem to have let Roland down when they advertise that they know how to make stage pianos. Spent 25 years making them, yet they can't make them easy to get on stage and plug up.

Otherwise, yes. Wonderful sounds, brilliant action. Still trying to find the right setup for my gigging, but that's largely because there's a lot more options. It already sounds so much better off the bat from previous keys, but now there are more options and sounds to play with.

Personally I like the upright piano. Haven't used it in anger yet, but when I've switched to it I'm always tempted to try some Let It Be.

I don't know whether it's because there are more options, but I found the interface on my old A90 much more intuitive to navigate. Still getting used to holding down a button and pressing shift/exit to edit it. Used to be able to pull out new patches by typing in a number and pressing enter when I needed it. Now it seems to be a two handed affair, or scrolling through a wheel - not as stage-friendly. Still wading through the instructions though, so I'm probably missing something.

Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2299145
07/06/14 11:50 AM
07/06/14 11:50 AM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Worcester, UK
B
bgiles Offline
Full Member
bgiles  Offline
Full Member
B

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Worcester, UK
I often like to layer two E.Organs, for example two identical Rock Organs, with the second an octave lower, which I can fade it in/out as required.

On my RD-700, the 'Rotary' multi-effects knob toggles the SLOW/FAST speed on all organ assigned to layers (Upper 1, 2 & Lower), which makes sense.

However, on the RD-800, I haven't found a way to toggle the 'Rotary' SLOW/FAST speed on multiple layers either using the Tremolo 'Rate' knob, or assigning the control to assignable switches S1 & S2.

The option for TR/AMP in the 'Layer Edit' can only be set for one layer, i.e. it's a radio button rather than a tick box.

Yes, you can can change SLOW/FAST speed for the second layer in the 'Designer Menu', but then there is no way to toggle the speed for this layer whilst playing.

Any ideas would be appreciated?


Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2299150
07/06/14 12:21 PM
07/06/14 12:21 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,442
Boston, Massachusetts
M
Marko in Boston Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
M

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,442
Boston, Massachusetts
I will check it on mine later today. If not an on-board option perhaps the the Roland EV-5 Expression Pedal might be a good alternative. Do you already have one?


KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2299159
07/06/14 01:27 PM
07/06/14 01:27 PM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Worcester, UK
B
bgiles Offline
Full Member
bgiles  Offline
Full Member
B

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Worcester, UK
Hi Marko, yes I use am EV-5, it's connected to the EXT port, which is assigned as the default expression port.

Connecting the EV-5 or DP10 to FC1 or FC2, and then assigning this to 'Rotary', still only switches the speed on the one layer.


Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: Marko in Boston] #2299166
07/06/14 01:47 PM
07/06/14 01:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,217
Vancouver, BC
JayGVan Offline
1000 Post Club Member
JayGVan  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,217
Vancouver, BC
I had a customer ask me this last week. I've been away from my RD on vacation though. I thought we had accomplished it. But for the lief of me cannot remember how.

I'm back to work on Tuesday. Let me go through my notes, and see what we did.

Jay


Formerly in the business. Now just a piano fan.
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: JayGVan] #2299835
07/08/14 11:30 AM
07/08/14 11:30 AM
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Worcester, UK
B
bgiles Offline
Full Member
bgiles  Offline
Full Member
B

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Worcester, UK
Originally Posted by Jay Roland
I had a customer ask me this last week. I've been away from my RD on vacation though. I thought we had accomplished it. But for the lief of me cannot remember how.

I'm back to work on Tuesday. Let me go through my notes, and see what we did.

Jay

Thanks Jay, hoping you find out how you accomplished this from your notes.

On a related matter, do you know why Roland programmed the E.ORGAN's on tone bank 5, numbers 265-322, with their 'Tremolo/Amp Simulator' setting on '[1] Normal' instead of '[5] Rotary', which would have been more logical for E.ORGAN's.

The 10 'Tone Wheel Organs' (255-264) are fine, with 'Rotary' as the default.


Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5
Re: ROLAND RD-800 USER THREAD [Re: bgiles] #2299948
07/08/14 05:49 PM
07/08/14 05:49 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,217
Vancouver, BC
JayGVan Offline
1000 Post Club Member
JayGVan  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,217
Vancouver, BC
Originally Posted by bgiles
Originally Posted by Jay Roland
I had a customer ask me this last week. I've been away from my RD on vacation though. I thought we had accomplished it. But for the lief of me cannot remember how.

I'm back to work on Tuesday. Let me go through my notes, and see what we did.

Jay

Thanks Jay, hoping you find out how you accomplished this from your notes.

On a related matter, do you know why Roland programmed the E.ORGAN's on tone bank 5, numbers 265-322, with their 'Tremolo/Amp Simulator' setting on '[1] Normal' instead of '[5] Rotary', which would have been more logical for E.ORGAN's.

The 10 'Tone Wheel Organs' (255-264) are fine, with 'Rotary' as the default.


No, we were working on something totally different according to my notes, although still organ related. (Sorry my brain is a bit overloaded as I'm back to office today with over a week away) Looks like the Rotary effect can only be assigned to one layer at a time.

With regards to the other stuff bgiles, can you feed that back to Roland UK so Roland Japan can hear about it? There might be a good reason why they did the effects assignment that way, or they may be able to change it via firmware update. It's best that it comes from the branch of Roland in your country though.

Jay


Formerly in the business. Now just a piano fan.
Page 6 of 12 1 2 4 5 6 7 8 11 12

Moderated by  Piano World 

Shop our Store for Music Lovers!
PianoSupplies.com is Piano World's Online Store
Please visit our store today.
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Seeking an inexpensive external audio interface for Linux
by Tyrone Slothrop. 09/17/19 05:19 PM
Should I buy this Steinway Model B 1928
by bonedoctor. 09/17/19 04:11 PM
what's the best way to record my digital piano?
by Álvaro. 09/17/19 04:10 PM
Knuckle position and leverage
by jsilva. 09/17/19 04:03 PM
got me an MP11se :)
by brogh. 09/17/19 02:39 PM
What's Hot!!
Our August Newsletter is Out!
------------------
Mason & Hamlin Piano Factory Tour!

-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics194,079
Posts2,870,477
Members94,437
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers


Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2019 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1