2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (36251, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 17 invisible), 2,123 guests, and 336 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
C
champy Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hi. I have this question in mind and am not sure if it is the right place to post here... (But where else could it be)... I hope it is ok..

You see... I am a pianist, trained classical and later on I started to play jazz and all sorts of contemporary music... I went this part to the point where I know how to go further and further, deeper and deeper into the particular styles and stuff, not that I am extreme good at them (yet!) But at least I know how to go there...

One thing I also realized is that, learning another instruments would help me to become a better musician as in general.(and if you notice, almost every great musician, except in a classical scene are able to play more than one instrument.... Chick Corea, Stevie Wonder,.. you name it!) Not that I would to be a real virtuoso on either instrument, but just to be able to perform the basic functions of the instrument, when my working circumstace need to. And to another level, to be able to apply some aspects of these instruments on piano, which is my main instrument.

Now... the question is which instrument to learn? Why? I am choosing between bass and drums because both instruments perform the most fundamental part of music.. Although I would probably end up playing both instruments through time, I would like to know opinion from you guys which one to start first...