2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
55 members (1957, Beowulf, Blue72, Badger1966, accordeur, anotherscott, Burkey, 9 invisible), 413 guests, and 412 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Some questions about finding a piano teacher
#2290156 06/15/14 05:21 PM
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I'm an older adult beginner and have been considering finding a piano teacher, but not having any luck so far. Besides a limited selection within a reasonable driving distance, and some only teaching children, I'm running into the following issues/questions:

1) Just about all of the piano teachers I've found doing online searches are set up to teach only 30 minute lessons in semesters, and charge by the month.

I'm looking for 45 or 60 minute weekly lessons charged by the week. It seems to me that 30 minutes isn't much time, or am I wrong about this?

2) Some teachers seem to teach the piano plus multiple other instruments.

Can someone really teach all 2, 3, or more instruments well, or are they spreading themselves a bit thin?

3) Some of the teachers seem really young to me (late teens, 20's), but say for example that they've been playing since they were 4 or 10 or whatever.

But I wonder if they're "mature" enough to be teaching piano, especially if they haven't been taught how to teach?

Linda

[Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image]
Casio Privia PX-850 (home), Yamaha Upright (lessons)
(ad)