2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
47 members (Cheeeeee, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 6 invisible), 2,096 guests, and 341 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
OP Offline
W
I posted this in the member's recording forum, but then realised its probably more suited to this forum (I'm a newbie, so please be kind!).

So for Easter I decided to try recording some pieces for the first time on my Kawai CA95, which I bought new a few months ago. I did this partly because there weren't many slower pieces I found for the CA95 when researching what piano to buy; for a digital, slower pieces can really reveal their weaknesses. I also wanted to record these because they are wonderful songs which I think celebrate and bring out the themes of Easter wonderfully.

I'm not a professional player, so hopefully these are up to scratch - there are the occasional parts which, if I'm being critical could be improved, such as the occasional badly resolved ad-lib. The first two pieces have the soft (una corda) pedal held for the entire length of the piece so that the piano is not so bright. For the Christ is Risen piece it is only held in quieter parts.

Piano settings - for those who are interested in such things - are generally some minor tweaks in the Virtual Technician to increase the note sustain length slightly, quieten the pedal board effect down, add a touch of Cathedral reverb, and for the How Deep piece, to add some extra string resonance in for a less clean sound. The Concert Grand is used for all pieces.

http://wolferblade.tumblr.com/