2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, 36251, benkeys, 9 invisible), 2,042 guests, and 334 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
R
RachFan Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
R
Hi Old Man,

I agree with you 101%. Yes, I was speaking mostly about playing and recording, which I've been doing for many years. (I've been posting my recordings here at Piano World for 11 years or so.) When I was a kid, I participated in the adjudicated National Piano Playing Auditions, and for 10 years had to ready 10 to 15 memorized pieces from the Baroque, Classical, Romantic, Impressionistic and Modern periods. So I did my stint a very long time ago on being the "well-rounded student" so far as stylistic periods are concerned. In my 40s I studied for seven years with an artist-teacher. I got to choose all the repertoire which included a little Classical music but a lot of Romantic, Impressionistic and Late Romantic works especially. He taught me a lot about the fine points of interpretation and performance. But he also taught me the most important thing: Teaching the student how to teach himself (which I've been doing ever since). So over the years I've been able to follow my own preferences in selecting repertoire, learning it, recording and sharing it. Going on 70 what could be better than that?