Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Piano Tuning
How to Tune Pianos
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Schumann's 4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Who's Online Now
106 registered members (anotherscott, 36251, ando, Agent88, accordeur, anamnesis, 22 invisible), 1,923 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 10 of 11 1 2 8 9 10 11
#2295297 - 06/26/14 11:48 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Cessquill]  
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 982
36251 Online content
500 Post Club Member
36251  Online Content
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 982
Originally Posted by Cessquill
Originally Posted by FilmMxMan
Sweetwater said Roland will be shipping in about 2 weeks. There is an adapter that will prevent someone putting in the wrong cable. So I guess there is no power cord directly connected to it.

Maybe there's a better "fix" from the factory out now then, and the lead screwed to a holder could have been for existing stock only.
It didn't happen without pics. Would like to see what that implies smile


AG N2 | CP4 | SSv3 | GK MK & MP
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2295322 - 06/26/14 01:30 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: FilmMxMan]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Boston, Massachusetts
Originally Posted by FilmMxMan
Sweetwater said Roland will be shipping in about 2 weeks. There is an adapter that will prevent someone putting in the wrong cable. So I guess there is no power cord directly connected to it.


Without the power cord attached Roland had to add a new warning decal on the US models...

[Linked Image]


KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2295479 - 06/26/14 07:41 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Boston, Massachusetts


KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2295510 - 06/26/14 08:46 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Marko in Boston]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,675
dewster Offline
4000 Post Club Member
dewster  Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,675
Northern NJ
Originally Posted by Marko in Boston
Without the power cord attached Roland had to add a new warning decal on the US models...

[Linked Image]

Ha ha!

Somewhat ironically, were Roland to give me such a decal I would be quite tempted stick it on my DP - for hipster cred and such.

Marko, this could be a cottage industry for you!

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2295654 - 06/27/14 05:12 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Marko in Boston]  
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Cessquill Offline
Full Member
Cessquill  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Peterborough, UK
Originally Posted by Marko in Boston
That took a while.

#2297473 - 07/01/14 09:42 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Boston, Massachusetts
Good to see some new informative demos starting up again and put this XLR bullsh*t behind.

Note: no change in the power cable. Wow, maybe he has eyes and a brain in addition to some great talent.





KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2297586 - 07/02/14 04:02 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,227
EssBrace Online content
3000 Post Club Member
EssBrace  Online Content
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,227
Suffolk, United Kingdom
A thousand increments in keyboard sensitivity...."a hundred times more than the previous keyboards". Right so the previous RDs had ten levels then? Don't they make any efforts to ensure accuracy in these claims?

#2297607 - 07/02/14 07:07 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: EssBrace]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,963
toddy Offline
2000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,963
Portugal
Originally Posted by EssBrace
A thousand increments in keyboard sensitivity...."a hundred times more than the previous keyboards". Right so the previous RDs had ten levels then? Don't they make any efforts to ensure accuracy in these claims?


Why is this not accurate, though? Perhaps the last one had 127 + 1 levels (that's what mine transmits over midi, anyway, so it will be at least that).

These new ones are using more bits - or bandwidth - for velocity sensing, so it's likely they're using between 10 and 16 bits, there will be sensing with thousands of increments.

Or have I got the arithmetic wrong? smile


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / NI K9 Ult. / Focusrite Saffire 24
W7, i7 4770, 16GB / Yamaha HS7s / HD598

Prudence is a rich ugly old maid courted by Incapacity. He who desires, but acts not, breeds pestilence.
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven & heck
#2297609 - 07/02/14 07:18 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: toddy]  
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Cessquill Offline
Full Member
Cessquill  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Peterborough, UK
Suppose it was 128 (0-127) levels of sensitivity before.

128 x 100 times more sensitive = 12,800 levels of sensitivity. That's a touch over 1000.

That's how I interpreted the video, and guessed it slipped through the net.

#2297620 - 07/02/14 07:46 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,963
toddy Offline
2000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,963
Portugal
He said it has 100 times more than the previous keyboards.

The previous ones probably had 128 (but possibly more).

Here are bit resolutions:

1 bit = 2
2 bit = 4
3 bit = 8
4 bit (formerly known as a nibble) = 16
5 bit = 32
6 bit = 64
7 bit = 128
8 bit = 256
9 bit = 512
10 bit = 1024
11 bit = 2048
12 bit = 4096
13 bit = 8192
14 bit = 16384
15 bit = 32768
16 bit = 65536

.....so to fulfill what the man is saying, you'd need to be using around 14 bits. This is hardly improbable given that D/A equipment has been using 16 bits since the 1980's as standard.

But yes, I see what you mean - he said it's only 1000 levels, so he's got it wrong somewhere - like I did smile

He should have just said, 'lots and lots of new levels' and we'd have understood very well.

Last edited by toddy; 07/02/14 08:31 AM. Reason: I got the sums wrong

Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / NI K9 Ult. / Focusrite Saffire 24
W7, i7 4770, 16GB / Yamaha HS7s / HD598

Prudence is a rich ugly old maid courted by Incapacity. He who desires, but acts not, breeds pestilence.
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven & heck
#2297623 - 07/02/14 07:57 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 549
bfb Offline
500 Post Club Member
bfb  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 549
Atlanta GA USA
from the recall page:

Incidents/Injuries
Roland received one report of a consumer connecting the power cord to an XLR output jack. No injuries have been reported.

Remedy
Consumers should immediately stop using the pianos, unplug the power cord from the wall outlet and the piano and contact Roland U.S. for a free repair kit or to locate an authorized dealer or service center to have the repair kit installed free of charge.

So one knucklehead caused all this commotion?! of course the remedy is for you to stop playing that concerto NOW! Unplug the piano that was operating perfectly normal and run out of the room and do not go near it until you get your free repair kit! After all, being human, you never know when the urge to plug an electric cord into the wrong place might strike!

Anyway, maybe there was more going on than this says. Regardless, I applaud Roland for taking the pain and getting out in front of this, although i think they probably could have gotten away with ignoring it.


Steinway M; Roland V-Piano; Yamaha P250;
Ivory II Grands, Italian, American D; Galaxy Vintage D; True Keys American; UVI Yamaha C7; Ravenscroft 275; Garritan CFX
#2297677 - 07/02/14 10:51 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: bfb]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,230
voxpops Offline
3000 Post Club Member
voxpops  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,230
Wales
Originally Posted by bfb
So one knucklehead caused all this commotion?!


So, you've just been held up in traffic, you arrive late at the gig and you're stressed. You plonk the RD on the stand, reach over from the front to the general area where the AC receptacle sits and feel your way to the socket where the cable fits....

The scenario is not unrealistic. You can only see where the cable is supposed to go from the rear, and from a relatively low angle. There is no top-of-the-board marking to help you, and the XLR sockets are close to the AC - and according to what I've read, the AC plug fits easily onto the XLR pins. Many venues are also very dark.

Knucklehead or not, I can visualize this happening as more than a one-off, and Roland had to act. To me, as I've said before, it was a design blunder where aesthetics (or other considerations) trumped functionality. I agree that Roland should be commended for acting so swiftly - and it must have been painful to have to do that just after the launch of a flagship.

Unfortunately, the chosen solution is a touch inelegant, and may cause minor issues for transport. But it's a darn sight better than a dead musician (unless they're playing Phil Collins covers wink ).


"you don't need to have been a rabbit in order to become a veterinarian"

mabraman, 2015
#2297718 - 07/02/14 01:11 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: bfb]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Boston, Massachusetts
Originally Posted by bfb

So one knucklehead caused all this commotion?!


I also bet that one knucklehead had one great attorney. Seems a bit odd that this "one" complaint trigger off such massive attention and action.


KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2297887 - 07/02/14 07:42 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Marko in Boston]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 13,242
Kawai James Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 13,242
Hamamatsu, Japan
Originally Posted by Marko in Boston
Seems a bit odd that this "one" complaint trigger off such massive attention and action.


No, I don't think so.

It doesn't really matter how many people complained. The important point is that Roland took the necessary action to correct a potential safety issue with the instrument.

Cheers,
James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
#2297919 - 07/02/14 09:47 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Kawai James]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Boston, Massachusetts
Originally Posted by Kawai James

It doesn't really matter how many people complained. The important point is that Roland took the necessary action to correct a potential safety issue with the instrument.
x


I suppose you are correct as you are in the industry. I guess Im just still trying to wrap my head around the whole matter because it seems so insignificant to me on the user end. But through corporate eyes I imagine it must be a huge matter.


KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2298091 - 07/03/14 04:39 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Cessquill]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,227
EssBrace Online content
3000 Post Club Member
EssBrace  Online Content
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,227
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Originally Posted by Cessquill
Suppose it was 128 (0-127) levels of sensitivity before.

128 x 100 times more sensitive = 12,800 levels of sensitivity. That's a touch over 1000.

That's how I interpreted the video, and guessed it slipped through the net.


This is my interpretation too. I assume they've gone from 127 levels (+ zero), ie, MIDI standard, to their claim of 1000 levels. So that's about eight times more, not a hundred times more.

#2298200 - 07/03/14 11:48 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: EssBrace]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 380
Aidan Offline
Full Member
Aidan  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 380
UK
The right thing to do would have been to do what they should have done in the first place, frankly. Fit a standard IEC input. Roland has no excuse for this debacle and the 'fix' is shoddy, inconvenient and not even necessarily 100% effective.


Live: Casio PX-5S | Hammond SK1
Studio: Yamaha CP4 | Hammond SK2 | Kurzweil PC361 | Moog Sub 37
#2298267 - 07/03/14 02:12 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: EssBrace]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,211
JayGVan Offline
1000 Post Club Member
JayGVan  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,211
Vancouver, BC
Originally Posted by EssBrace
Originally Posted by Cessquill
Suppose it was 128 (0-127) levels of sensitivity before.

128 x 100 times more sensitive = 12,800 levels of sensitivity. That's a touch over 1000.

That's how I interpreted the video, and guessed it slipped through the net.


This is my interpretation too. I assume they've gone from 127 levels (+ zero), ie, MIDI standard, to their claim of 1000 levels. So that's about eight times more, not a hundred times more.


For clarity. There is a separate processor that scans the PHA-4 keybed and allows the sound engine access to velocity information at 100 times greater resolution than before. Meaning the sound engine has it's processing load reduced and is now being fed velocity information for processing, instead of having to do all the keybed scanning, AND processing.

This saves bandwidth for the increased ability of the SuperNatural Piano.

Jay

.


Formerly in the business. Now just a piano fan.
#2302634 - 07/15/14 03:42 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 38
grandpianodave Offline
Full Member
grandpianodave  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 38
Plains
I have one coming in on an order, which case would you guys suggest for road-use?

#2302639 - 07/15/14 03:59 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: grandpianodave]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Boston, Massachusetts
Originally Posted by grandpianodave
I have one coming in on an order, which case would you guys suggest for road-use?


I use the GATOR GK-88 for my ES7 and RD800. Good case and good value. Works fine with both boards. Its roomy for cables and accessories. Loaded case fits in my SUV no problems. Easy to handle and its fairly heavy duty for a light duty case - well made. Plus, love having rollers.

Gator internal: 57.5" x 18" x 6"
Roland RD800: 55" x 14.5" x 5.5"

Possible cons: Keep in mind the case is BIG and might be tight in some cars as it measures over 5'.2" ft long. Also, no shoulder strap. I would personally like a shoulder strap but non issue for some.


If you travel or need heavy duty, this might be the better option: GATOR ATA

Last edited by Marko in Boston; 07/15/14 04:03 PM.

KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2302666 - 07/15/14 04:44 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Cessquill Offline
Full Member
Cessquill  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Peterborough, UK
I use this http://www.skbcases.com/music/products/proddetail.php?id=688

Similar to the gator and again has room for leads and pedals. Has slightly less excess internal space, but there's not much in it. The wheels are handy, but seem to be built for the smaller cases (I've found that at the angle you pull it at, the base of the case can sometimes drag).

Edit: sounds a bit obsessive, but I compared 8 different cases for internal dimensions, weight and wheels/pockets, etc. For the last 20 years I've had flightcases, and they've just been overkill. It had never been flown or put in the back of a lorry, so I have up on that dream and treated my back.

Last edited by Cessquill; 07/15/14 04:48 PM.
#2303297 - 07/17/14 08:57 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: Cessquill]  
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 17
BarryDMD Offline
Junior Member
BarryDMD  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 17
Warwick, RI
I notice that the RD-800 is available for sale at retailers in the U.K.
Does anyone know how the AC cord outlet is configured ?

Barrydmd

#2303307 - 07/17/14 09:28 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: BarryDMD]  
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Cessquill Offline
Full Member
Cessquill  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 48
Peterborough, UK
Originally Posted by BarryDMD
I notice that the RD-800 is available for sale at retailers in the U.K.
Does anyone know how the AC cord outlet is configured ?

The cable is moulded to a mount that is screwed to the back of the board near the power socket. It's done in such a way that it can only be plugged into the power and won't reach the XLR. It is therefore fixed to the keyboard.

There are two screws holding the cable bracket on. Should you wish to transport the board in a conventional case/bag, I guess it could be removed. At your own risk, of course...

It's got a fixed cable-tie on it that allows you to coil the cable up which protects it during transit (although when boxed, the plug has foam around it). I'm dubious as to whether the keyboard is protected using this solution.

Interestingly (or not) the version that I demo'd didn't have any of the recall fixes on, but the version that I purchased did.

#2303869 - 07/18/14 10:50 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Boston, Massachusetts
Great demo but I'm really liking his setup with nice chair, computer, desk, and monitors.



KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2303919 - 07/19/14 02:26 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
bgiles Offline
Full Member
bgiles  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Worcester, UK
Interestingly, from 0:24 of the video, you see a top pan of the keyboard showing the EQ & Tone Bank 0 LED's 'flashing', under what conditions would this happen?


Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5
#2303954 - 07/19/14 08:22 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: bgiles]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 282
slowtraveler Offline
Full Member
slowtraveler  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 282
Boston, MA USA
The LEDs don't actually pulse like that. That effect in the video is caused by interaction between the camera's shutter and the LEDs themselves, which appear constantly illuminated but actually turn on and off many times per second.

#2303971 - 07/19/14 09:19 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: 27Jan]  
Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
bgiles Offline
Full Member
bgiles  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2014
Posts: 71
Worcester, UK
You learn something new every day cool


Roland RD-800, RD-700, SRX-02, SRX-04, SRX-07, SRX-11, EV-5
#2303976 - 07/19/14 09:45 AM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: slowtraveler]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,366
Boston, Massachusetts
Originally Posted by slowtraveler
The LEDs don't actually pulse like that. That effect in the video is caused by interaction between the camera's shutter and the LEDs themselves, which appear constantly illuminated but actually turn on and off many times per second.


OT, but you are 100% correct:






KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2304115 - 07/19/14 05:04 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: slowtraveler]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,675
dewster Offline
4000 Post Club Member
dewster  Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,675
Northern NJ
Originally Posted by slowtraveler
The LEDs don't actually pulse like that. That effect in the video is caused by interaction between the camera's shutter and the LEDs themselves, which appear constantly illuminated but actually turn on and off many times per second.

It's a form of non-linear distortion called "aliasing". To not experience it you need a low pass filter which sufficiently attenuates the source harmonics that exist above 1/2 the sample rate. Being non-linear, you can't remove it once you've introduced it.

#2304202 - 07/19/14 09:02 PM Re: Roland RD 800 [Re: dewster]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 282
slowtraveler Offline
Full Member
slowtraveler  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 282
Boston, MA USA
Originally Posted by dewster
Originally Posted by slowtraveler
The LEDs don't actually pulse like that. That effect in the video is caused by interaction between the camera's shutter and the LEDs themselves, which appear constantly illuminated but actually turn on and off many times per second.

It's a form of non-linear distortion called "aliasing". To not experience it you need a low pass filter which sufficiently attenuates the source harmonics that exist above 1/2 the sample rate. Being non-linear, you can't remove it once you've introduced it.


Hmm. It's a bit over my head, but I can see that the effect is a form of temporal aliasing, insofar as the temporal sampling rate (the shutter speed and the frame rate, as a whole) of the camera is too low relative to the frequency of some periodic motion in the captured scene.

Conceptually, though, I don't see how one could produce a low-pass temporal filter for a motion picture camera smile

With respect to light sources, this kind of problem can be addressed by synchronizing the shutter with the circuit driving the lamp, as is done with certain kinds of motion picture lighting, IIRC. In effect, you are aligning the temporal sampling grid with the time base of periodic variations in the scene content.

With natural phenomena like the canonical example of wagon wheels, all you can really do is jack up the frame rate, which isn't an option if you have to conform to standards for playback and distribution systems.

Alternatively, you can at least mitigate the problem by effectively increasing your camera's shutter angle, at the cost of introducing additional motion blur.

Whoa, pretty far OT now. Sorry!

Page 10 of 11 1 2 8 9 10 11

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River & Ritmuller
Ritmuller Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
20+ year old Estonia pianos
by Osho. 10/17/17 03:56 PM
Next General Recital 29 DAYS 11.14.2017
by piano_primo_1. 10/17/17 03:31 PM
Bela Bartok Mikrokosmos excercises
by GHN. 10/17/17 02:19 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics182,348
Posts2,665,300
Members88,982
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0