2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, 4 invisible), 1,329 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
OP Offline
R
I'm a beginner pianist with some basic knowledge of music theory.
Basically I can read notes and accidentals and rests.

I can continue to learn theory with the 7 berklee music theory books.
I'm struggling to find enjoyable and somewhat simple songs to learn.
I've been practicing the theme song for the super Mario bros but it's use of three or Moore fingers at once is overwhelming.

I'm totally into jazz/blues/classical ,

I've also been practicing two different finger methods

One I believe for scales , moving down a keyboard using my thumb for transition

The other I believe helps singers practice
Play 1st skip second play through to pinky/thumb then start back on the 2nd as the 1st and repeat.

I'm playing a bit of improv, mainly newbie playing on 3 scales and playin around

I think I'm asking for knowledge so I can learn on my own untill I can afford a tutor
What I need

1. Songs that will keep my interest , even slightly ( much like the beautiful fur Elise by Beethoven) but, that I can practice ;maybe for different reasons such as sight reading or comprehension.

2.tips hints and strategies on practice and study

3. What I might need to learn next , or emphasize on

4. Your opinion(positive)

5. Extra info and resources

6. Information on different paths of study for musicians and paths related to jazz/blues/ and soul