2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
55 members (beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Carey, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, 10 invisible), 1,978 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
J
jzzgrl Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I am new to the Piano Forum and wanted to get some opinions about buying a grand Schimmel or Bosendorfer. I have been playing on several models this past month. I do prefer the Bosendorfer over all pianos, but the price is so high I will have to make payments for several years. I was very pleasantly surprised when I played on a 6'5" Schimmel Konzert at the store. The touch and sound was closest to the Bosendorfer than others. My dilemma is to buy a new CS 214 Bosendorfer for $80K or buy a pre-owned 2008 213T Schimmel that has hardly been used and in great condition for 30K! I may eb able to get it for $27/28K but it doesn't have the Renner action and the sound is a bit too bright for me, plus i think the owner's room was very "live" so it was hard to hear the sound clearly. I am 50 years old and thinking about saving/catching up for my retirement, etc. I want to be a realist and consider my budget, but i also wonder if by buying this fine piano, will I be always dreaming about a Bosendorfer?! I am a part time piano teacher but I have a day job in science as well. This will primarily be for my own enjoyment. I currently have a 30 year old upright Schafer and Sons that has been good to me, but I need a major upgrade now! I have been classically trained but recently getting into a lot of jazz). Anyone out there owns a Schimmel 213T that are super