2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., David B, Fried Chicken, AlkansBookcase, 7 invisible), 1,169 guests, and 295 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
M
Maechre Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I've dreamt of teaching piano for years now. I do have a student once a week, but I'm keeping it quiet while I do my Bachelor of Music Performance. I teach that student at a school via a contracting company. I've always thought when I finished my Bachelor I could work at a supermarket or something while building up private students. But is teaching piano really viable? My family and friends really don't seem to think so. Would it be a good idea to go for a Master of Education and lean towards school teaching? That hasn't been my goal for a while, but it's sort of close.

Also, later down the track, would piano teaching be viable in a family situation (married with kids)?

Last edited by Maechre; 03/16/14 03:19 AM.

I love sight-reading! One day I will master it.

http://www.youtube.com/user/Acrozius?feature=mhee
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
You seem divided to begin with.

I'd say that teaching is very much a viable option, if you're clever about this. You'll need a combination of skills, but it certainly can happen. Many teachers here "only" teach and are very happy overall, as far as I'm concerned.

M
Maechre Offline OP
OP Offline
M