2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,851 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
Aucha Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hello grin ! I’m new to this forum and a beginner piano player, essentially. Sorry about the long-windedness, but I need to relate the whole story in order to get accurate feedback. And I'm asking in this forum as I'd like replies from teachers.

I’ve just started piano lessons formally. I’ve kind of mostly self-taught – on and off. I was shown middle C on music and keyboard as a 6 year old child and worked out how the notes worked from there, similar with chords – worked out the ‘patterns’ from knowing C, F and G (I’m sure there’s nothing unusual in this, but I self-taught initially). I taught myself to play the organ (I preferred piano, but my mother preferred organ), teaching myself “Never Ending Story”, “Fame” and other such songs from sheet music with no real difficulty as a kid off by ear (I could and did play them FAR faster than they were meant to be played, although I was painfully slow at reading the notes). And I could hear songs on the radio and easily play a simple version on the organ. I then had lessons about the age of 9 or 10, but was forced to go back to playing nursery rhymes by an impatient teacher. I was horribly de-motivated by that and became so frustrated that I quit and didn’t touch it for several decades – although I could still remember how to play the songs I had taught myself into my twenties.