2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, Carey, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 1,461 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Hello,

I have been playing the piano for >8 months now (self taught).
Now I am taking piano lessons, for 1 month, and I got a (kind of) hard piece to learn. It's Op. 55 No.1 Chopin. I am struggling with it for almost 4 days, and I only got the 1st page, without reading, I memorized it... Everytime when I try to play, I get lost because sometimes I have to look at my hands because of the chords. How can I read and play, with making leaps and chords with my left hand? I need to learn this before
march 17!! It has to be perfect. Sorry for my English.

Thank you

,JK

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member

Be yourself

S
S
Personally I'd memorize lots of it and eliminate reading from the equation.... i tend to do that anyways. That way you're looking at the score and see the c jump or whateverr and you just see ok this is that part. Memorizing small chunks works great

"Doesn't practicing on the piano suck?!?!"
"The joy is in the practicing. It's like relationships. Yeah, orgasms are awesome, but you can't make love to someone who you have no relationship with!"
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
I get lost after looking down for jumps too. Sometimes I plan when I need to look, and mark the score so I can spot to where I need to look back.

Learner
E
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
E
Originally Posted by PianoJames
Hello,