2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
47 members (Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 5 invisible), 1,292 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
OP Offline
E
Hello Piano World,

My name is Ethan and I need help choosing the accessories for a Kawai VPC-1. Here are the specifics.

I'm in my mid 30's and have newly started logging time on my son's NU1. I'm almost finished with the Level 1 coursework.

I'm buying the Kawai Vpc1 controller for my studio (I'm a visual artist working in 3d, animation and compositing)so that I don't interfere with my family and can practice in my study. What I need is information on what additional hardware that I should buy with the Vpc1 - midi hardware, monitors etc. I don't want to buy junk and I don't want to pay out the nose. The system will be in a basement environment.

I have two Win 8 computers that could host the virtual instrument (I think?)

1. Laptop
Gen4 i7 3.3Ghz, 8Gb memory, 500Gb SSD (XPS 12) - I like to use this to read sheet music too so if it will work for both that'd be great.

2. Desktop
6core i7 3.7Ghz, 32 Gb memory, 1Tb SSD (Asus onboard HD audio)
- It will be nearby the piano so I could use this too

So I have several questions.

Will I need a pci audio card? If so what should I pick up to minimize latency.

Will I need a Digital Audio Interface? If So what should I be looking for? Can I run the whole thing via USB? Is there more latency on USB than MIDI?