2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (johnesp, drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, 7 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
I
OP Offline
I
Hi,

I am a young guitarist and developer. I am found of the concept of musical improvisation and I think it is a pleasure more accessible than it seems. So I started to develop a game that allows anyone to discover that pleasure.

It now takes the shape of an android application called Improvider. It simply suggests the user to play a background music and improvise a solo on a keyboard of which some keys have been colored to show an easy scale to improvise (actually nearly only the pentatonic for the moment).
The realisation is not perfect yet but I need feedback to make something interesting and enjoyable.

You can get it here, or just to see some screenshots:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.improvider&hl=en

The project also has a facebook page:

www.facebook.com/Improvider

What do you think about that? Is it a good idea to try to popularize musical impro like that? If you could try the app yourself, what is your feeling about it?

Sorry for my bad english,
thanks a lot!

M
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M
Improvising isn't about scales. It's about using appropriate target tones and about phrasing. Even in a pentatonic scale, there are one or two target tones that take precedence. If you want to make a good app, focus on this.

I
OP Offline
I
Hey! Thanks for your point of view smile