Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
What's Hot!!
PIANO TEACHERS Please read this!
-------------------
European Tour for Piano Lovers
JOIN US FOR THE TOUR!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

Who's Online Now
68 registered members (Blue72, Alex_G, Cosmoz, ando, amad23, 24 invisible), 1,020 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot] #2213372
01/12/14 12:56 PM
01/12/14 12:56 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,145
UK
lolatu Offline
1000 Post Club Member
lolatu  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,145
UK
FP80 has a speakers switch, which implies that it has a useful function, so it makes no sense that FP50 doesn't. -1 respect for Roland on this one. frown


Kawai CA95 / Steinberg UR22 / Sony MDR-7506 / Pianoteq Stage + Grotrian / Galaxy Vintage D / CFX Lite
In the loft: Roland FP3 / Tannoy Reveal Active / K&M 18810
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: lolatu] #2213413
01/12/14 02:05 PM
01/12/14 02:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,854
A
anotherscott Offline
4000 Post Club Member
anotherscott  Offline
4000 Post Club Member
A

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,854
Originally Posted by lolatu
FP80 has a speakers switch, which implies that it has a useful function, so it makes no sense that FP50 doesn't. -1 respect for Roland on this one. frown

A separate switch is best. Cheaper models often have the switch "built in" to the headphone jack... the speakers switch off when you insert a plug into the jack. That probably suits the majority of players, but you lose some flexibility.

Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: stourot] #2213423
01/12/14 02:28 PM
01/12/14 02:28 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,145
UK
lolatu Offline
1000 Post Club Member
lolatu  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,145
UK
What they should have is a one switch for the speakers, and another (conveniently placed) switch for the headphones. If you have your DP at home it's very preferable to leave the headphones plugged in the whole time, and flick a switch if you want to use them. It's less effort, less physical wear and risk of damage to components, and keeps the lead in a tidy place.


Kawai CA95 / Steinberg UR22 / Sony MDR-7506 / Pianoteq Stage + Grotrian / Galaxy Vintage D / CFX Lite
In the loft: Roland FP3 / Tannoy Reveal Active / K&M 18810
Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: anotherscott] #2213436
01/12/14 02:50 PM
01/12/14 02:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 235
Connecticut,USA
C
Coker Offline
Full Member
Coker  Offline
Full Member
C

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 235
Connecticut,USA
Anotherscott, I had the same issue with my FP-4 - I wanted to be able to use sound isolating earphones while playing with a big band (to mute the brass a little so I could hear myself). If you were to open up the keyboard to where the headphone jack is, you'll see a wire going from the jack that is electrically isolated (turned off) when plugging in the headphone. I simply connected a jumper across that "switch" so the headphone would not disconnect the speakers when plugged in. In my case, there are two headphone jacks, so I altered only one of them to give me a choice of whether speakers will be turned off or not, depending on which jack I plug the headphone into.


Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93, Kurzweil SP6, EV ZXA1
(ad) SWEETWATER
Easy Monthly Payments on Keyboards & Synthesizers
Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Coker] #2213490
01/12/14 04:20 PM
01/12/14 04:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,854
A
anotherscott Offline
4000 Post Club Member
anotherscott  Offline
4000 Post Club Member
A

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,854
Originally Posted by Coker
Anotherscott, I had the same issue with my FP-4 - I wanted to be able to use sound isolating earphones while playing with a big band (to mute the brass a little so I could hear myself). If you were to open up the keyboard to where the headphone jack is, you'll see a wire going from the jack that is electrically isolated (turned off) when plugging in the headphone. I simply connected a jumper across that "switch" so the headphone would not disconnect the speakers when plugged in. In my case, there are two headphone jacks, so I altered only one of them to give me a choice of whether speakers will be turned off or not, depending on which jack I plug the headphone into.

I'd like to install such a mod into my old Casio PX-500L, so that one of its headphone jacks wouldn't cut off the speakers, but that's beyond my skill level.

As for the FP-4, though, it has a speaker switch on the back. I guess putting something into the headphone jack overrides it? Since it also has line out jacks, I guess the need for anyone to have speakers on while something is plugged into the phones jack is reduced.

Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: anotherscott] #2213533
01/12/14 05:30 PM
01/12/14 05:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 235
Connecticut,USA
C
Coker Offline
Full Member
Coker  Offline
Full Member
C

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 235
Connecticut,USA
Yes, to be clear, while I used my headphones we wanted to leave the speakers on for the nearby band members to hear, while the line out was plugged into the band's PA out in front of the band. So, by jumpering the headphone jack, we could use headphones AND hear the FP-4's speakers at the same time.


Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93, Kurzweil SP6, EV ZXA1
Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Coker] #2213790
01/13/14 02:55 AM
01/13/14 02:55 AM
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 268
Swabia
C
Cmin Offline
Full Member
Cmin  Offline
Full Member
C

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 268
Swabia
Originally Posted by Coker
Cmin, can you explain the loop problem a little more?

Also, this is a little kludgey, but might there be a way to simply cover the speakers if you don't want to hear them?

Sorry, I only noticed now your question.

Let's say I'm playing a gig with a band on a 'smaller' stage. I would like to hear a bit of the lead vocals in my monitor for example. Since the stage is small, I would like to use the built in speakers on my piano as a small monitor. So I get a cable from the engineer to hook up into my piano with a mix from the desk. At this point everything is fine. I hear the piano and the vocals coming straight out of the piano. But the engineer at the desk starts freaking out because all of a sudden from the piano output he gets the piano together with the vocals.
Anything that is sent to the input of the piano is outputted from the piano. There is no way to cut the signal route.

I hope this was somewhat clear wink


Cheers,
Lenny

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FP-80, synths, guitars, mics, MBP, interfaces, Voicelive 2, ableton, Pianoteq, nubert a-200
Re: Roland FP50 - how to disable built in speakers ? [Re: Cmin] #2213858
01/13/14 08:18 AM
01/13/14 08:18 AM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 235
Connecticut,USA
C
Coker Offline
Full Member
Coker  Offline
Full Member
C

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 235
Connecticut,USA
Cmin - thanks. That makes sense. I think I have had a similar loop as follows:

My flute player sets up his mic within range of my front-firing keyboard speakers and asks for a little reverb. The piano sound comes out of the keyboard speakers and feeds into the mic, which in turn feeds my PA, which I am also feeding directly from the keyboard. Now, my keyboard has extra unwanted reverb because of the flute's mic channel, plus possibly some distortion from the multiple out of phase feeds from the keyboard.


Yamaha CP4, Kawai CA93, Kurzweil SP6, EV ZXA1
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Piano World 

(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways
(ad)
Sweetwater - Keyboards
Sweetwater Keyboard Deals
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Lisner Piano
by GoldenTiger. 02/17/19 06:27 AM
Key lubricant for a digital piano
by Harlequinmusic. 02/16/19 10:14 PM
Query - Serenade (Rachmaninoff)
by Moo :). 02/16/19 09:28 PM
CLIMATE CHANGE
by MICHAEL122. 02/16/19 09:15 PM
live performance-Tanya Gabrielian, Live @ KPG
by supersport. 02/16/19 08:01 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums40
Topics190,318
Posts2,796,026
Members92,485
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Please Support Our Advertisers
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

Sweetwater

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2019 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2