2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, 3 invisible), 1,329 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
2000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
2000 Post Club Member
P
(As a teacher, I post more often on the Piano Teacher board, but I thought it would be interesting to post this here.)

Most of my students are adults - generally beginners or intermediates - and we tend to work together for many years. Friendships arise over time, and the lessons tend to be fun and stress-free. At least that's my aim.

The flip side is that I seldom have new students. However, this fall I had a few openings, and I commenced teaching relationships with 3 adult learners. Based on your own experiences working with piano teachers, how long do you think it will be before these students and I acquire genuine ease and rapport with each other? I figured it would have happened after a handful of lessons, but I was mistaken. Perhaps I've forgotten how long it genuinely *does* take. Your thoughts?

Thanks,
Peter

E
E
I think that depends on how compatible you are with the person.
I liked my teacher from the start and that grew into great respect.
Now I can't imagine taking lessons with another teacher.
Even when saying that my playing is bad he says it in a way that is so funny that I start to laugh.

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member