Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!


SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Modern Piano Moving
Modern Piano Moving
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
Who's Online Now
150 registered members (alexcawley, Aloyah, amad23, Albunea, AndyP, accordeur, 36 invisible), 1,874 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2204311 - 12/29/13 01:47 AM Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help!  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
George St Offline
Junior Member
George St  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Hello,

i have a problem with my Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 which from one day to the other stopped working.

I had only moved it from the living room into the study and maybe through this move something got lose? The electronics seem still to be fine, i.e. if I switch it on, all lights turn on as usual.

I just don't get any sound out of it. I checked on the lower left side of the keyboard to make sure the OUTPUT-switch is put on "speakers" - nothing. I also checked with my headphones if the issue is potentially the speaker itself - no sound through the headphones.

I already checked the fuses on the main board (I found 2 glass ones) if a fuse has burned through - both fuses are ok.

Any idea what this could be?
Thanks for your help in advance

George

Last edited by George St; 12/29/13 01:48 AM.
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2204330 - 12/29/13 04:45 AM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,022
spanishbuddha Online content
3000 Post Club Member
spanishbuddha  Online Content
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,022
UK
Have you done a factory reset? Another test is to plug in some external speakers. Since it occurred after a physical move, I would open it up and reseat all the internal connectors and look for loose connections.

#2204375 - 12/29/13 09:13 AM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,083
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,083
North Carolina
Check the manual. Look for the "LOCAL CONTROL" setting on page 37. It's function F7.3. To see whether local control is on or off simply follow the instructions on the next page. Additional details are on page 46.

Normally local control is turned on. But if it somehow got turned off, the piano will produce no sound. Check the manual.

#2207737 - 01/03/14 09:49 PM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
George St Offline
Junior Member
George St  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Hi SpanishBuddha and MacMacMac
I finally managed to get some sound out of it through external speakers, connected via AUX OUT/pin jacks. It still though doesnt play through its built in speakers nor through connected head phones (the speaker setting is ON). I also checked LOCAL CONTROL (function F 7.3) which is ON. Finally i reset all factory settings - without success. Any idea what the error might be?
Thanks for your help
George

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2207885 - 01/04/14 06:11 AM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,968
Dave Horne Online content
5000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Online Content
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,968
Vught, The Netherlands
Is the plug for the headphones an adapter ... and is the adapter still in the headphone jack? I've done that myself and it took me a few minutes to narrow down the problem.

I would personally open up the keyboard and see what plugs have come loose.

I think every possible suggestion has been given. If none work then it's time to call Yamaha. I have the feeling however it's a very simple solution.



website | mp3\wav files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
#2207973 - 01/04/14 12:03 PM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 395
guyl Offline
Full Member
guyl  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 395
Montreal, Canada
Could be the power amplifier that's gone bad.


What do snowflakes and Chickerings have in common? There are no two exactly alike!
#2207979 - 01/04/14 12:12 PM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: guyl]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,968
Dave Horne Online content
5000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Online Content
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,968
Vught, The Netherlands
Originally Posted by guyl
Could be the power amplifier that's gone bad.


... an internal fuse?



website | mp3\wav files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
#2208208 - 01/04/14 05:04 PM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
George St Offline
Junior Member
George St  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
@ Dave Horne: yes, the headphone plug is an adaptor. However, i tried also without headphones and with SPEAKER on ON - no sound. I also checked the two fuses on the power board - all good

@ guyl: where would i find the power amplifier? And how could i check if that's the issue? As i mentioned: sound comes through external speakers but somehow doesnt arrive at the internal ones

I had opened up the piano but it seems nothing had come lose

Thanks in advance for your help
George

#2208209 - 01/04/14 05:13 PM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,172
dmd Offline
3000 Post Club Member
dmd  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,172
Pennsylvania
Originally Posted by George St
sound comes through external speakers but somehow doesnt arrive at the internal ones


If you tell this to the Yamaha corporation, they will know exactly what is wrong.


Don

Current: ES8, ProFX8 Mixer, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 audio device, SennHeiser HD598 Phones, Focal CMS 40 Powered Monitors, JBL LSR305 Powered Monitors, Pianoteq 5,TruePiano,Ravenscroft275,TrueKeys American,Galaxy Vintage D,Ivory II,Alicia's Keys,CFX Concert Grand, The Grandeur
#2208302 - 01/04/14 09:05 PM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,083
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,083
North Carolina
Dave Horne asked "Is the plug for the headphones an adapter ... and is the adapter still in the headphone jack?"

The answer was yes (adapter) but there was no response to "is the adapter (or anything) plugged into the headphone jack". If something is plugged in, you'll get no sound from the speakers.

If that doesn't resolve this, then it's off to the repair shop. You cannot repair this yourself.

#2558960 - 07/26/16 10:34 PM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
samofsydney Offline
Junior Member
samofsydney  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Hi "George St" - I am having the same issue with CLP 120 today !!!! I know it was a long time ago but in case you remember how did you fix that sound issue you had with your CLP120 ?

I would greatly appreciate your response.

#2558992 - 07/27/16 01:39 AM Re: Yamaha Clavinova CLP 120 - no sound? Please help! [Re: George St]  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 84
Pro-TAC Offline
Full Member
Pro-TAC  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 84
Japan
Please be quiet.
and please power on your CLP.
after 2-3seconds you could hear click sound around amp board?
it's switching muterelay unlock sound.

no sound --- power amp IC is dead .TA8233H.price is around 5-6$.
pin15 Lch out
pin11 Rch out
you have DC voltage on these pin

if you hear click sound
you can use AUX in and out.
you can't use MIDI and USB.
mainboard is dead..






--------------------------------------
Pro-TAC tuning and repair service.

http://pro-tac.jpn.org/english.html
https://www.facebook.com/protac.jp/
https://plus.google.com/b/111654612048157812408/
--------------------------------------



Moderated by  Piano World 

UK Members
Please check in
UK Members & Friends
Checking on our members and friends from the UK. Please Check In When Able
Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


(ad)
Pianoteq
Grotrian Concert
Royal
for Pianoteq out now
What's Hot!!
Why Do You Play The Piano?
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Henle Editions
by sara elizabeth. 05/23/17 04:40 PM
Yamaha YDP S51 issues
by hast66. 05/23/17 03:32 PM
How do you know if a piece is at your level or not?
by marimorimo. 05/23/17 03:01 PM
(ad)
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics179,846
Posts2,629,159
Members87,859
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Report Problems With New Forums
Report Problems with New Forums Here!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0