2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (36251, Doug M., Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, David Boyce, 6 invisible), 1,092 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#2198266 12/16/13 12:12 AM
R
ryand90 Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hello,

I'm sorry to be a pain, but this keeps coming up for me. I've been practicing for about five months now and while I do seem to make progress, I still find difficulties with sight reading. Another user here recommended Sight Reading Factory, which I'm probably going to try.

I practice sight reading daily, however progress seems to come so slow, so slow that its hard to even tell If i'm getting better.

Any advice or tips from other beginners?

PS- I know you're supposed to look ahead, but it's hard to look ahead when I haven't mastered tactile sensitivity towards the keyboard. I'm currently using the Super Sight Reading Secrets program by Richman. I'm in the process of drill 1.

Thanks,
ryand90

ryand90 #2198278 12/16/13 12:45 AM
S
S
haha i felt the same way. Then i noticed small things like being able to call a sixth, a fifth, a seventh an octave and get the hand position correct to support what I read. Ultimately tho, just keep going wink

"Doesn't practicing on the piano suck?!?!"
"The joy is in the practicing. It's like relationships. Yeah, orgasms are awesome, but you can't make love to someone who you have no relationship with!"
ryand90 #2198312 12/16/13 02:13 AM
C
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
C
I hate to put it like this:

. . . Sight-reading is _hard_ !