2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 2,120 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
S
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
S
I'm supposed to be on holiday - due at the pool soon! - so have been following but not participating. I have been playing TK Italian for some months, via an ES7. My background is over half a century of playing any number of APs and owning AP grands from 5'3'' to 9'. Apart from trying out Pianoteq, TK's Italian is the only s/w piano I have played.

There are two main aspects in moving from APs to DPs for me: playability and sound and the two cannot be completely separated unfortunately. I have found the ES7 to be very playable, re action and, largely, sound, except for lack of string resonance, which we are all familiar with in playing DPs. The Italian provides satisfactory resonance/sustain, for me as well as a satisfactory playing experience generally. In terms of sound I experience huge differences between headphones (Sennheiser 640s ?540s? can't remember) and the ES7's speakers. So I need a blend of TK and ES7 for playing through the speakers (sound feedback), whilst I can enjoy the Italian on its own through headphones. In terms of recording (i.e. pure sound considerations), I use the Italian on its own, but need to reduce the bass - quite considerably - to play through my domestic system. No problem through Audacity.