2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Cominut, crab89, aphexdisklavier, fullerphoto, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 4 invisible), 1,182 guests, and 269 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi everyone , so I've been playing now for almost 3 months without a teacher. The problem is that because am doing this by myself , i can't determine if what I can do or achieved so far is good or well for 3 months of piano playing. Can you guys advise me about anything that can criticize what I've done so far and if it's not enough for 3 months.

W
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
W
Trying to benchmark yourself against a fixed progress schedule may be a surefire recipe for frustration.

People have different aptitudes and pick things up at different rates, especially in music.

In terms of knowing what foundational skills that you're not developing--that's the sort of thing that an actual teacher is very good for.

Whizbang
amateur ragtime pianist
https://www.youtube.com/user/Aeschala

Silver Supporter until Jan 11 2012
1000 Post Club Member

Silver Supporter until Jan 11 2012
1000 Post Club Member
Record yourself playing, and listen to your recordings. What satisfies you, and what doesn't?
Recordings can reveal a host of problems. (ask me how I know! wink )

Please step aside. You're standing in your own way.
E
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
E