2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (Colin Miles, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, ChickenBrother, 9 invisible), 2,081 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
joms Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Hi,

I am from the Philippines and I'm an absolute beginner in piano. I am rather old at 41yrs old but I am very interested to learn the piano. I have a few questions though, namely:

1) What are the advantages/disadvantages of learning the piano by using the Do Re Mi method as against the C-D-E-F-G?

2) I am also currently studying acoustic guitar (1month now). Will it be a bad idea to learn Piano and Guitar at the same time? I have around 2hours practice time each day and I'd like to devote an hour for guitar and an hour for piano.

3) How would you know if a music teacher is a good one? I initially started thinking of doing self study with the piano but I've read that I might learn bad habits if i don't get a piano teacher who would teach me the proper way to play. Is this true?

4) If in case I do decide to just do self study, what are the bad habits that I should look out for in playing the piano?

5) If in case I do decide to go self study, what online sites are great for this? Is there any site which are equivalent to jamplay or guitartricks for guitars? It is ok for me to pay so as long as it is a really good site but it would still be better if it would be free. (someone pointed out that another good free resource is Lypur's youtube site - Furmanczyk Piano Academy)