2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
74 members (20/20 Vision, brdwyguy, AlkansBookcase, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, booms, Bruce Sato, Carey, 10 invisible), 1,925 guests, and 267 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2177375 11/05/13 08:36 AM
J
OP Offline
J
Hi there,

I am a beginner and i would like to get a piano for beginners. I do not want a mechanical one.
I would like to be able to use the piano with my Mac OSX and the ipad. I also would like to have the keys that can light up.

I also do not really realize what 'options' are good to get...

Please could you advise me on a cheap piano.

Thanks

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Not sure if I understand what you mean. You want a keyboard with keys that can light up, but don't want a "mechanical one." To make the keys of a keyboard able to light up, requires a certain mechanical system, that consists of small light diodes, probably LED, behind the plastic (usually) keys and the the diodes are connected to an internal light switch in each key, which is turned on if the keys are pressed.

So you can't possibly have a keyboard with lit up keys, that is not mechanical. Unless you mean that the keyboard may not sound mechanical. Which could be hard to find, as the keyboards with this light up option, are usually among the cheaper ones.

I actually had one of those a few years back, Yamaha EZ220 is the name and model number. I got rid of it when I found out it wasn't useful at all. I quickly discovered I needed better action, that is, more weight in the keys. That's what you should get, for example Casio PX-150 or Yamaha P105.