2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (BillS728, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, Dfrankjazz, danno858, CharlesXX, bcalvanese, 8 invisible), 2,073 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi everyone , so hmm I've been playing for almost 2 months and after I got a grip of the piano am going to start building a solid repertoire. My biggest obstacle is that I cant find motivation when learning a piece I dont like , and most of the pieces I like are intermediate or hard.My favorite composers are Chopin,Tchaikovsky and Debussy . Can you please suggest me some pieces or collection of pieces to learn that sounds similar to those composers or atleast from the romantic era (I know i will be doomed by saying this xD but I dont really enjoy Baroque music).

S
S
hate to say it but.... you want step 100... you're on step 1.. still, yes. i've only been playing 6 months and im on step 1 lol

"Doesn't practicing on the piano suck?!?!"
"The joy is in the practicing. It's like relationships. Yeah, orgasms are awesome, but you can't make love to someone who you have no relationship with!"
A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A
I'm going to agree with Sweet06, you are putting the cart before the horse. You don't want to try to keep a repertoire of pieces forever until you have progressed to the point where the pieces are ones you want to keep forever.

Now I can sight read simpler pieces as well as - perhaps better - I used to be able to play them after studying them for a while a few years ago.