2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, 13 invisible), 1,873 guests, and 261 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
tdv Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I am new to the art of piano tech, but a friend who is an experienced tech is teaching and helping me step by step. (BTW while I knew that a piano was complicated, I did not know how complicated it is to make a piano both play great and sound great. Those of you who can transform a piano into such a state are truly very talented.) One thing I have been learning and enjoying is putting in new strings. However, my main struggle is to make nice tight coils. It seems that sometimes it takes me more time to make a nice coil than it does for me to put in the pin, and measure, cut, and install the string. My teacher has a couple of coil tools, but they are challenging to use on quite a few of the pins. I tried to design my own coil tool. It would take a while to explain it, but in short, I made a two piece tool with one part being the "claw" that goes around the tuning pin and the other part being a lever that goes through the first piece to lift the "claw" up hopefully making a tight coil. But so far it does not work very well. Maybe I can refine the design, but even if I refine it, I already can see that it will not be "the answer" - at best it will be an answer in some situations. Maybe making good tight coils will become easy with more practice (I have done 200 - 300 strings so far), but in the meantime I am looking for a better tool. I envision some type of pliers i