2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
39 members (Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 11 invisible), 1,180 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
In my 6 month piano journey nothing has been so daunting and hard. One of the reasons I started learning music so late (26) is because I thought I had a bad ear and music depended on being born with a perfect pitch.

But since my goal is to be a composer in the long run, I need to at least develop relative pitch and therefore I got Comprehensive Ear Training Series from Fredrick Harris (Part of RCM exams)

melody playback is when someone plays a memory without you looking at the piano and then reproducing it yourself from memory. you will know which key is it in to make life easier. The book is a collection of these exercises to prepare one for RCM exams.

I tend to intellectualize things- which is a weakness of mine. what is the proper way of approaching these melody playback exercises?

Do i need to know all intervals before attempting at these?
I think what I am asking is what are the necessary prereqs for attempting these exercises?

Warm regards,
Thank you all

Peace and love and play smile
S
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
S
If a person is struggling, going down to easier exercises is a suggestion. I have mentioned an Android tablet app in the past. It has four games:
* higher/lower
* match the note
* identify the interval
* identify the chord

There are also websites that feature similar games, though I don't have any links handy.