2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, 13 invisible), 2,107 guests, and 322 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 84 of 119 1 2 82 83 84 85 86 118 119
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
@Monica: Yes, those endless octave ups and downs are the major challenge. But I'm progressing well.

@Jessiebear and @ShiroKuro: I take photocopies and I keep only 1 or 2 pages in front of me - the sessions I'm working on -. Since I can memorize with ease, that works for me.

[Linked Image]
SoundCloud | Youtube
Self-taught since Dec2009
"Don't play what's there, play what's not there."
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
Jessiebear, I'll try to take some photos that describe what I'm talking about, and upload those soon.

Carlos, are you able to memorize and keep those pieces in, and continue adding pieces to your repertoire? I have found that if I want to build my repertoire and hae it continue expanding, I really need to be able to "see" the score for a lot of pieces, even if I'm not actively reading the score (if you see what I mean). And being able to "read-play" a piece that I've already polished and taken out of practice rotation also helps me have a larger repertoire. Maybe I should try to push my memory more, but at this point I only have about 4-5 pieces that I play completely without the score, but I have probably almost 4 times that many pieces on my "read-play" repertoire list. Using the score also helps with Christmas music (sorry, off-topic! laugh

Started piano June 1999.