2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
62 members (Barly, bobrunyan, brennbaer, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 8 invisible), 1,776 guests, and 307 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
Thanks!
I try. smile

Learner
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by peekay
As an adult student, I can fire my teacher at any time. He works for me, on my schedule, at my prerogative. Not the other way around.

No, your teacher also gets to fire you if you lag behind in your practice, start banging on the piano rudely, keep on changing the lesson time, or take 5 months off piano lessons for no apparent reason.

It's a two-way street.

Private Piano Teacher and MTAC Member
P
P
Well, in reality, he can complain to the department head, who will make a big fuss, because the school really wants MY MONEY and will bend over backwards to get it.

But I get along great with my teacher, and I will say it again: I am glad I don't have to deal with piano teachers who think the whole world revolves around them. I would drop such a teacher in an instant.

Working on RCM Grade 9
E
E
Originally Posted by Gary D.

Think about the greatest athletes. The best in the world. They travel with trainers, coaches, ready to correct anything that goes wrong. You don't see them "on their own" for a couple months.

And these are top professionals.