2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
53 members (CharlesXX, bcalvanese, AlkansBookcase, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, Carey, accordeur, 1957, 10 invisible), 2,154 guests, and 301 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
OP Offline
P
HI there-

First off let me say that I'm not good at negotiating these things, because I really have no experience. I've read through the posts on negotiating with the dealer - all very good advice, like using the power of "no", perhaps mentioning to the dealer that "ABC dealer down the street has this same piano for X dollars" if they quote you a price that seems way too high, using the old "I'll have to think about it", and such.

But what do you do when the brand you're looking for is obscure, like a used Ibach grand, so there really is no competition?

AND, you basically have to travel across the U.S. if you want to try out the piano, because again, no one else really has any. Seems like the dealer definitely has the advantage and therefore might not offer as good of a deal as one would hope...

I have so far only sent an email to the dealer asking the exact year of the piano & model. So far I haven't even asked what his asking price is. However, if I'm going to possibly fly out there to take a look, I would like to know that it's at least in my price range first. However, I also don't want to "lock" myself into a price, when I haven't even seen it yet, if that makes sense.

Any suggestions on how to do this, and then to later negotiate on it successfully?

Thanks!

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member