2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, AndyOnThePiano2, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, 11 invisible), 2,109 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2145998 09/07/13 08:26 PM
D
OP Offline
D
I'm a graduate student and currently I have a 6'2" Grotrian Studio 192, but soon I will be moving back with my fiance's parents until our wedding and the climate control can swing by up to twenty degrees. Currently, the piano has a Dampp-Chaser. I was wondering if there are any concerns or precautions I should be taking to ensure that the piano stays in good condition?

Platinum Supporter until October 5 2014
7000 Post Club Member

7000 Post Club Member
Hi Daniel,

Will the piano be left unattended and for how long will it remain that way? Hopefully, it will remain in a climate controlled environment and the D-C system will be running and the water reservoir kept filled. Trusted friends only!

If it will be for a long period, you might check out storage with a dealer or rebuilder who offers humidity controlled storage.

Marty in Minnesota

It's much easier to bash a Steinway than it is to play one.
R
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
R
Dear Daniel,