2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (Craig Hair, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, Davidnewmind, 5 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 275 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
M
OP Offline
M
I currently own an Baldwin Acrosonic. I'm just learning piano. I love it. I'm certain I will continue until I can play no more.

Thinking about replacing my Acrosonic, I've played lots of pianos and will need more time before I can truly find the right piano for me. As a stop gap measure, I'm considering buying an old, large upright. They are usually free or less than $500 where I live in Northern California.

I looked carefully at David Burton's thread on the Golden Age of Pianos. He rates three companies with "5" stars, Steinway, Mason Hamlin, and Knabe. Several others with "4" stars. I see some of these old upright pianos come-up for sale or for take away. I heard a couple over the weekend and they sounded fantastic. Of course they had been tweaked by a piano tech. I also suspect the SF Bay area climate has helped preserve some of these old pianos.

I'm tempted to pick-up one of these old beast to get that rip roaring base sound my Acrsonic can not make.

I'm a little afraid of buying a grey market U3 at $4K or a new U3 at $8K, or a used Schimmel at $10K... knowing that eventually I'll want a grand piano. It's the logistics of trying to sell it and get back most of the investment. With an old beast, it's just the sad thought of having to haul it to its final resting place.