Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!


SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Modern Piano Moving
Modern Piano Moving
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
Who's Online Now
77 registered members (AprilE, agraffe, Beakybird, BeeZee4, anamnesis, 22 invisible), 1,697 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2131922 - 08/12/13 05:03 PM Recordings with metronome?  
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 823
Amaruk Offline
500 Post Club Member
Amaruk  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 823
New England, USA
Does anybody here ever use a metronome (silent) while recording? Some digital pianos don't record the built-in metronome beats during a recording session (my LX-15 for example). Metronome beats thru headphones would accomplish the same thing for those who are recording APs or DPs without this feature. I am curious to know what others are doing when they are recording their piano performances. In piano videos with pros in a studio setting I sometimes see that they have headphones while playing an AP. Is that for metronome sound?


My piano channel on YouTube: Link
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2132195 - 08/13/13 09:42 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,806
wouter79 Offline
4000 Post Club Member
wouter79  Offline
4000 Post Club Member

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,806
I'm sometimes using visualmetronome
http://sourceforge.net/projects/visualmetronome/


[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
#2132198 - 08/13/13 09:57 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: wouter79]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 494
Farmerjones Offline
Full Member
Farmerjones  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 494
Midwest USA
my Fostex MR8 has a click track you can hear through the headphones. And hope it doesn't bleed through to the mike.
What I prefer, is a sacrificial rhythm track, if you're lucky enough to a have a multi-track recorder. They are getting less costly all the time.


view my profile for a link to my YT page.
#2132212 - 08/13/13 10:35 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,892
TimR Offline
3000 Post Club Member
TimR  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,892
Virginia, USA
I use a clicktrack from Audacity. I use one earbud so that the sound doesn't bleed through into the recording. Then I delete the clicktrack at the end. I do multitrack recordings this way.


gotta go practice
(ad ) MusicNotes.com
sheet music search
#2132214 - 08/13/13 10:50 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: TimR]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,007
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,007
Connecticut, USA
Originally Posted by TimR
clicktrack from Audacity

Brilliant. I did not even know that existed. I guess I should start looking at those other tabs I never used before. Thank you!


Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2132250 - 08/13/13 12:13 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,167
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,167
Northern England.
aLL dp`S HAVE `EM I reckon. Trouble is playing to it. So bloody relentless! Then you forget to switch it off when you record the (recorded) song . . . A separate rhythm track would be much better. Can`t do that on mine. Dammit . . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2132304 - 08/13/13 02:03 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 494
Farmerjones Offline
Full Member
Farmerjones  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 494
Midwest USA
Lo-tech, but I've gone as far as to wear a single ear bud under a standard set of headphones. The ear bud, of course, plugged into an mp3 player. I don't think there's any sin for playing along with a band or orchestra rather than a click.

My Audacity experience was with an old slow computer. I'll bet it's improved immensely. It wasn't the applications fault, in fact I found Audacity quite powerful.



view my profile for a link to my YT page.
#2132398 - 08/13/13 04:50 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 823
Amaruk Offline
500 Post Club Member
Amaruk  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 823
New England, USA
Thanks for all your inputs!! Now I know that this is indeed a method used by others here. Great!

FarmerJones I have used your low-tech method of combining headphones just like that too. It works great! My Roland RD-700NX lacks line-in terminals so I use this method rather than an external mixer out of convenience.

Peter My RD-700NX can't play any rhythms (or metronome) while the internal (.wav) recorder is being used. These two functions are mutually exclusive by design. However, my LX-15 allows me to use the metronome while I am recording using the internal recorder (.wav). And to my big surprise, the metronome sound, which is mixed in with the piano sound in the speakers, is not recorded to the audio file! Thus, the piano must have the metronome sound on a separate channel which bypasses the recorder function. Neat!!!




My piano channel on YouTube: Link
#2132636 - 08/14/13 05:15 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 505
timmyab Offline
500 Post Club Member
timmyab  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 505
Bristol, UK
The trouble is that your playing will sound mechanical and boring.The metronome should be for short periods of practice only, especially once the notes have being learnt and the piece is starting to come together.
I have trouble keeping strict tempo like most people and it shows up badly in the more classical rep, but I'd much rather have those wince inducing unintentional tempo changes than not be able to add rubato and ritardandos where I deem it appropriate.Well executed tempo adjustments and pauses are one of the things that pianist have at their disposal in order to express themselves.

Last edited by timmyab; 08/14/13 06:23 AM.
#2132648 - 08/14/13 05:55 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: timmyab]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 540
adultpianist Offline
500 Post Club Member
adultpianist  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 540
I use a metronome to guage the right timing.

#2132950 - 08/14/13 08:08 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: timmyab]  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,892
TimR Offline
3000 Post Club Member
TimR  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,892
Virginia, USA
Originally Posted by timmyab
I have trouble keeping strict tempo like most people and it shows up badly in the more classical rep, but I'd much rather have those wince inducing unintentional tempo changes than not be able to add rubato and ritardandos where I deem it appropriate.


You are not alone, I'd guess this is the majority problem.

But not being able to keep a strict tempo really means that your rubato is accidental and not within the context of the music.

Rubato is a deliberate variation from strict tempo. Without the ability to keep strict tempo, there is no true rubato.

There must be somebody in the world who is boring because he keeps a strict tempo. I haven't found him though. Have heard lots of boring people, but not for that reason. I think it's a n urban legend.


gotta go practice
#2133409 - 08/15/13 02:49 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: TimR]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,139
Brian Lucas Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Brian Lucas  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,139
Nashville, TN
Depends on what you're playing. For solo piano, you have a little more freedom to ebb and flow tempo. But I still think it's always good to work on your sense of time. In a studio setting with a band, there is almost always a click going on in your ears. The trick for me is to turn that simple click into a rhythmic feel, so you're not playing so robotic. In recent years, a lot of my live playing in bands is also done to click. So hearing that click in your ears is becoming more common.

Originally Posted by TimR
But not being able to keep a strict tempo really means that your rubato is accidental and not within the context of the music.
Such a true statement. One of the real benefits of working with a metronome is to figure out where your tempo fluctuates because of interpretation and where it changes because of the difficulty of the section.


-Brian
BM in Performance, Berklee College of Music, 23+ year teacher and touring musician
My Downloadable Video Piano Lessons
My Sight Reading eBook
My Music
#2143939 - 09/04/13 09:51 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 120
Lost Woods Offline
Full Member
Lost Woods  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 120
The Netherlands
Since I don't think these questions about my new little metronome have to be in a whole new topic I'll just ask it here:

- Is it normal in "free stance" the pendulum isn't right in the middle but a bit off (in the video case to the right).. as you can see on) 0:15 and 0:27?
- When do I have to wind it up?

[video:youtube]GpmmzHaVX98[/video]

Last edited by Lost Woods; 09/04/13 09:52 AM.
#2145465 - 09/06/13 09:21 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 25
jaymes677 Offline
Full Member
jaymes677  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 25
Metronome? What's that? Just play the piece and call it rubato smile


Kawai MP6 Stage Piano
JBL LSR305 Monitors
#2145475 - 09/06/13 09:48 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Lost Woods]  
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 823
Amaruk Offline
500 Post Club Member
Amaruk  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 823
New England, USA
Originally Posted by Lost Woods

- Is it normal in "free stance" the pendulum isn't right in the middle but a bit off (in the video case to the right).. as you can see on) 0:15 and 0:27?
- When do I have to wind it up?


Refreshing to see a mechanical metronome in use!! I have not used mine in a long time but it looks strange that your pendulum is off center like that.

I think I used to wind mine up quite regularly just to make sure it had juice at all times.

Last edited by Amaruk; 09/06/13 09:50 PM.

My piano channel on YouTube: Link
#2145476 - 09/06/13 09:49 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: jaymes677]  
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 823
Amaruk Offline
500 Post Club Member
Amaruk  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 823
New England, USA
Originally Posted by jaymes677
Metronome? What's that? Just play the piece and call it rubato smile


Very true. smile


My piano channel on YouTube: Link
#2145479 - 09/06/13 09:56 PM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Lost Woods]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,139
Brian Lucas Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Brian Lucas  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,139
Nashville, TN
Originally Posted by Lost Woods
- Is it normal in "free stance" the pendulum isn't right in the middle but a bit off (in the video case to the right).. as you can see on) 0:15 and 0:27?
Are you sure the table is level?


-Brian
BM in Performance, Berklee College of Music, 23+ year teacher and touring musician
My Downloadable Video Piano Lessons
My Sight Reading eBook
My Music
#2145604 - 09/07/13 04:47 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
de cajon Offline
Full Member
de cajon  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
London, UK
There's a story about a famous drummer - perhaps it was Ringo Starr - who on being pestered to put the headphones on and play to the click track, exclaimed, "I am the bloody click track."


Yamaha C3X SH
#2145615 - 09/07/13 05:59 AM Re: Recordings with metronome? [Re: Amaruk]  
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 184
peekay Offline
Full Member
peekay  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 184
Some drummers can't keep a steady time!! Sad, but true.

@jdeacon:

There's a similar story about U2's drummer, Larry Mullen, Jr.

While recording "Sunday Bloody Sunday" (1983), Mullen was asked to use a click track. He flatly refused! He is an excellent drummer and can keep time accurately.

Nevertheless, he was persuaded to use a click track for the rest of the songs in the album "War". It was Mullen's first time recording with a click track, and he found it quite difficult -- he had to really simplify his drumming in order to keep in sync with the click track.

In an interview, Mullen said working with a click track really helped him grow as a musician. It forced him to analyze his own playing, and through that process, helped him discover his own style. He became a firm believer in using a click track.

Fast forward 17 years. While recording "All That You Can't Leave Behind" (2000), Mullen began complaining about the click track to Brian Eno, U2's producer for the album. Mullen felt the click track was a bit slow.

How could that be? The rest of the band had recorded to that click track. But Mullen said he couldn't play to the click track, so Eno relented and slightly adjusted it to run faster. Mullen then complained that now it was slightly too fast. Eno adjusted it once more to Mullen's liking.

After the session was over, Eno analyzed the recordings. Mullen was right! The original click track was 6 milliseconds (!) too slow. Then when Eno adjusted it the first time, it became 2 milliseconds (!) too fast, just as Mullen had said.

That's just 1/500th of a second difference! It's incredible that Mullen can accurately detect such small variations in timekeeping. He's like a human chronometer.


Working on RCM Grade 8

Moderated by  BB Player, casinitaly 

UK Members
Please check in
UK Members & Friends
Checking on our members and friends from the UK. Please Check In When Able
Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


(ad)
Pianoteq
Grotrian Concert
Royal
for Pianoteq out now
What's Hot!!
Why Do You Play The Piano?
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
More? Or less?
by Jolly. 05/23/17 09:10 PM
1985 Kawai KG-2D
by saltshaker. 05/23/17 08:56 PM
Kawai RX1 or RX3 grand piano?
by yyjean. 05/23/17 06:51 PM
(ad)
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics179,850
Posts2,629,253
Members87,859
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Report Problems With New Forums
Report Problems with New Forums Here!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0