Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Hurricane Irma & Our Piano Friends!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Schumann's 4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Who's Online Now
80 registered members (ando, andyhuang, Agent88, accordeur, anotherscott, 20 invisible), 1,732 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2136365 - 08/21/13 02:47 AM Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
So i ran into a big problem.. I reinstalled windows and kontakt etc.

I previously got Minihost to work with ASIO4ALL In the last windows. worked fine with my integrated audio card

Now,
I'm using the Presonus audiobox, with the latest drivers and it only gives me static when pressing a note.

what's going on?

What do i do?
help? I need to get this up and running asap


::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2136428 - 08/21/13 06:27 AM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 300
Clayman Offline
Full Member
Clayman  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 300
Prague, Czech Rep.
I will only be guessing now but -- is the "latest" driver the same you used before? If not, try using the older driver if you can still find it. Or try to see if there are known issues when using this configuration.


-- Zbynek N.

Learning to play the piano since 06/2013 on a Kawai CA-95.

Music is what feelings sound like. ~ Author Unknown
#2136448 - 08/21/13 07:42 AM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,363
Marko in Boston Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Marko in Boston  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,363
Boston, Massachusetts


KAWAI ES7 | ROLAND RD-800 | YAMAHA CP4 | YAMAHA STAGEPAS 400i | PRESONUS R65 & T10 | SHURE SRH1540 | SENNHEISER HD650 | K&M OMEGA
#2136552 - 08/21/13 11:22 AM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
gvfarns Offline
3000 Post Club Member
gvfarns  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
Texas
1. Is it the case that when you use the Kontakt standalone player (no minihost) you can play through the presonus with no problems? If so then I guess minihost is the culprit. I'm going to assume not for the rest of this post.

2. Is it complete static, or is it a note with static and pops and clicks?

If it is a note but with a ton of pops and clicks, it could be that your audio buffer is set to low or your interface is not running in ASIO mode or something.

If it's pure static, it sounds like your presonus software and/or hardware is not working. Most likely a configuration issue but it's not easy to diagnose from here.


(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2136591 - 08/21/13 12:10 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
My audio buffer Is set to 128. It's a note with alotttttttt. Of static and pops.

How do I fix this? Worked fine with the integrated sound card and ASIO4ALL

:s


::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2136602 - 08/21/13 12:36 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
gvfarns Offline
3000 Post Club Member
gvfarns  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
Texas
First increase the audio buffer until you stop getting static but no higher. Then look at how much latency is applied under that setting and let us know what it is.

Also, 128 can mean something very different if you are operating in 16/44 mode vs 24/96. For that reason you should report your latency in milliseconds. Either way it seems like quite a small audio buffer.

If the lowest buffer that doesn't result in static is more than 10-12 milliseconds or so then your system is not functioning properly. Otherwise you just had your buffer set too small.

Last edited by gvfarns; 08/21/13 12:40 PM.
#2136679 - 08/21/13 03:50 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
Ms is 3.7

I didn't realize recording was different to playing.
will increase the buffer size then.

See if that resolves the issue




::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2136683 - 08/21/13 04:02 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
Just upped the buffer size and latency in kontakt is 12.7.


The sound is exactly the same.

It doesn't even sound like a piano. You ca hear the notes but it sounds like midi, static and pops.



::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2136684 - 08/21/13 04:03 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
Using kontakt alone the sound is fine. Using minihost is not working. Any suggestions?



::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2136687 - 08/21/13 04:10 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
gvfarns Offline
3000 Post Club Member
gvfarns  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
Texas
I'm all out, sorry.

#2136768 - 08/21/13 06:49 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 13,178
Kawai James Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 13,178
Hamamatsu, Japan
Have you configured minihost correctly to use your audio interface?

James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
#2136781 - 08/21/13 07:16 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 89
Trstan993 Offline
Full Member
Trstan993  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 89
I had similar issues with my Scarlette setup that gives lots intermittent clicks and turn out the problem is in power setting for the cpu. Make sure your power setting is on high performance. and you need to disable the onboard soundcard via the control panel. If its driver conflict, you can use this to check for latency source and conflict. http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml

#2136791 - 08/21/13 07:31 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,388
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,388
North Carolina
Do you have MiniHost configured correctly?
Here are some screen shots:

SETTING UP THE ASIO DRIVER
Choose the AudioBox USB ASIO driver
[Linked Image]

Set up the ASIO
[Linked Image]


SETTING UP THE MIDI CONNECTION
Choose MIDI -> Configure MIDI Ports ...
[Linked Image]

Check off the box marked Presonus AudioBox MIDI
(I also have Loop Midi installed, hence the extra three ports. Ignore them in this picture.)
[Linked Image]

#2136866 - 08/21/13 11:44 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
Did all of the above. Same problem. Sigh.


Should I just find an alternative program?

Currently downloading ableton live free 30 day trial

Last edited by Mta88; 08/21/13 11:48 PM.

::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2137137 - 08/22/13 12:33 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
Any other ideas?

Should I install ASIO4ALL and try to use it with the presonus?

It probably is a driver issue.

Works perfect with kontakt alone. Only when using minihost it sounds terrible.


::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2137144 - 08/22/13 12:40 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,388
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,388
North Carolina
If it works with Kontakt but not MiniHost, it's probably NOT a driver issue.

I used to use MiniHost, but it only allows one VST instrument at a time.
So I switched to Presonus Studio One, which handles multiple VST plugins. Have you tried that?

How about VST Host? (I found it too tedious, but it works.)

How about asHost? (It worked for me until I moved to Win 7/64-bit.)

BTW ... what pianos are you loading into MiniHost?

#2137160 - 08/22/13 12:59 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
gvfarns Offline
3000 Post Club Member
gvfarns  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
Texas
Yeah, trying a different VST host might be a good idea, as MacMacMac suggests.

#2137407 - 08/22/13 08:55 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
Ok I will do so.

MacMacMac. I am loading vintage D into kontakt but all of them have the same problem with minihost.

Will try another one. Is the presonus one free?


::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2137520 - 08/23/13 02:31 AM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
Ok so I downloaded Presonus one free....

Just wondering how the Heck do you use this thing? I want to record Galaxy Vintage D. Thats all I desire. Not gonna add second instruments yet. Just wanna record my piano frown


::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2137542 - 08/23/13 04:47 AM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,388
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,388
North Carolina
When I run Vintage D (or any of the Kontakt-based pianos) under a VST host, I have to first load the Kontakt VST plugin. In my installation, Kontakt has THREE .dll files in the vstplugins folder. IIRC, they're called Kontakt.dll, Kontakt8.dll, and Kontak16.dll (or something similar). Not knowing which to use, I just chose Kontakt.dll. Which one do you load?

Also, when I moved to Windows 7/64-bit, Kontakt put .dll files in TWO places: C:\Program Files\vstplugins (for the 64-bit) dlls, and C:\Program Files (x86)\vstplugins (for the 32-bit plugins). Which ones are you using? IIRC, I'm using the ones in Program Files (x86).

After loading Kontakt into the VST host, I use the Kontakt window (inside the VST host) to load the piano(s), just like in Kontakt's standalone mode. Is that what you're doing?

Also, what are your objectives? I ask that because: If Kontakt works for you in standalone mode, why even bother with a VST host?

Also, I cannot answer your questions about recording. I don't record anything. Whether Kontakt or MiniHost or Studio One has the ability to record, I simply don't know. Sorry.

#2137651 - 08/23/13 10:40 AM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
de cajon Offline
Full Member
de cajon  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
London, UK
If I remember correctly, Mta88 wants to have a selection of pianos available, some of which run under Kontakt, but some of which don't. A nice VST host would load Kontakt and thus Vintage D, and also load VST pianos that don't use the Kontakt engine. And a VST host would do recording as an alternative to, say, Audacity.

What happened with Ableton Live, Mta88? I was considering that when I had problems with my usual live performance host. (Other than that though, I don't know much about Ableton.) And did you try the trial version of OpenLab's MOS I mentioned in the other thread?

All this stuff is infuriating I know, when all you really want to do is get on with the music, which is why I ditched my homebrew PC and went with a purpose-built system (which still drives me mad, but I do make more progress and more music).


Yamaha C3X SH
#2137778 - 08/23/13 02:15 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
I just wanna record ... Record my vintage D like how I recorded it with minihost .


That's all.

And tape a video, then sync the audio with the recording.

I didn't get a chance to try ableton live. Was trying to figure out presonus studio one.

Sigh.

Should I just try to install ASIO4ALL to see if it is a driver issue?

Can I use ASIO4ALL with my presonus audiobox?

Really need to get this up and running ASAP.


::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::
#2137780 - 08/23/13 02:25 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
de cajon Offline
Full Member
de cajon  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
London, UK
Ah, well then I am confused. What happened with the 'Audacity set to record the source "What I can hear" AKA "Stereo Mix"' / straight off Kontakt route?


Yamaha C3X SH
#2137938 - 08/23/13 07:45 PM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Mta88]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 13,178
Kawai James Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 13,178
Hamamatsu, Japan
Mta88, why not contact the developers of the software/hardware you are using to seek assistance?

Kind regards,
James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
#2138188 - 08/24/13 09:57 AM Re: Help! Minihost producing static when pressing a note [Re: Kawai James]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Mta88 Offline
500 Post Club Member
Mta88  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 919
Trinidad and Tobago
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Mta88, why not contact the developers of the software/hardware you are using to seek assistance?

Kind regards,
James
x



That's not a bad idea. Ended up using the integrated sound card to record my piano.

No rush anymore.

But still.

Came out very soft. Both computers work fine with the integrated sound card. Both of them don't work with the audiobox when recording and using minihost,

Must be a driver issue. Just gotta change vst hosts and find one that works.
They certainly don't make them easy to use, it isn't straightforward at all.



::Yamaha p105::Rokit 6 G3 Studio Monitors::Presonus USB Audiobox:: Audio Technica ATH-M50 Studio Monitor Headphones::

::Kayserburg UH 132 Royal Vertical::

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
Garritan CFX vs. Soniccouture Hammersmith
by Osho. 09/21/17 10:48 PM
Chords by Ear?
by tinman1943. 09/21/17 09:14 PM
Kawai MP11 Factory default setup parameters
by HaraldC. 09/21/17 08:36 PM
Hamburg Steinway C-227
by trandinhnamanh. 09/21/17 06:28 PM
Tools and books
by BLTOH. 09/21/17 05:14 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics181,970
Posts2,659,304
Members88,878
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0