2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, 3 invisible), 1,329 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2135224 08/19/13 08:20 AM
M
OP Offline
M
I just started playing piano a couple of months ago and Im getting a bit frustrated because of my teacher. I've been practising scales, and learned some jazz standards with arpeggiating my left hand and playing melody and 3rd + 7th with my right hand.

I've learned around 15 tunes this way and my teacher keeps just giving me new tunes to practise like this. Those tunes don't sound good when Im arpeggiating all the time and I don't know how I should add some variety in my playing. I'd like to also know how to use 9s, 11s and 13s to get those tunes to sound even remotely jazzy. I tried to ask my teacher about them and he answered "you just to have to try them and use the ones that sound good, use whatever fits your style". I know there's definitely some kind of logic when to use and how to use them. Trying to figure out this stuff by myself just feels like reinventing the wheel. And I don't even have my own style yet, I just started! I'd like to learn some basic stuff first. I actually had to watch a pedal tutorial from youtube to learn the basics of using them, since my teacher said something along the lines "there are many preferences, there's no right way to do it. You just have to use pedals the way it suits your playing".