2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, clothearednincompo, bcalvanese, booms, 10 invisible), 1,961 guests, and 252 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
OP Offline
D
I'm an indie rock/pop guitarist who wants to learn piano as a way to augment my songwriting, not to be a dedicated keyboardist. The approach taken to teaching these instruments is so vastly different, however, that I'm having trouble getting a practice routine and curriculum set up.

My understanding is that virtually all pianists have at least some degree of classical training, while most guitarists come from a less formal pop music background. So it's not at all uncommon for guitarists, even "professional" ones in touring, established bands, to play a basic library of root position chords for their entire careers. I mean there are probably folk guitarists who have spent their entire lives playing first position open chords, which most guitarists have down within the first few months. This is making it hard for me to understand how I should approach the piano.

I love voice leading and alternate chord voicing, but it's not essential for what I do the way it might be essential for a classical or jazz pianist.

On the other hand, I've NEVER heard of a pianist who can't play all of their chords in all positions.