2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Colin Miles, bcalvanese, 20/20 Vision, booms, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 10 invisible), 1,930 guests, and 260 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Shadows Offline OP
OP Offline
S
So, this may sound really basic but here goes..

I've never really been taught not to look at the keys while playing piano. It's hard for me to look at the sheet music while playing with jumps. I've been playing piano for about 8-9 years.

For example:

I played Schubert's impromptu op. 90 no. 1 a few months ago, it was really easy to keep looking at the sheet music, which made the learning process better and without any reading mistakes.

Right now, I'm studying Rach's Op. 23 no. 5. It's a wonderful piece, but it has so many jumps it's almost impossible for me to look at the sheet music. I need to look at my hands while performing these jumps. Therefor, my study approach is different. I learn about 2 measures at once by heart, then I continue. This studying method isn't as good as the one above I've noticed in the past..

Is there any study I could practice in order to get this right, or are there any tips? Seems pretty pointless to not look and try to play it, because I'm always too far from the actual notes when jumping, it's horrible hahaha.

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by Shadows; 07/29/13 06:16 PM.
Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
Not trying to sound too simplistic in what may be a complex issue for you, but :

- Keep your eyes on the music as you play.