2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (beeboss, Animisha, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 3 invisible), 1,277 guests, and 258 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
Hi,
I'm new to piano world and pianos in general and am looking to purchase a used piano for my young daughters and myself to learn. yep, I'm 35 and have finally decided to do it! looking at a 1960/61 Gulbransen with serial #495660. I'm told it has a rich sound and harp...what does this mean? it's had 2 owners (father & son) and he is asking 400$. is this a fair price? is it likely several parts will need to be replaced soon? are the parts pricey for this piano? as you can tell, I need any and all info, please!

thanks!

Platinum Supporter until October 5 2014
7000 Post Club Member

Platinum Supporter until October 5 2014
7000 Post Club Member
Hi Bleeg411 - Welcome to Piano World!

Gulbransen, from that era, was a middle-of-the-road piano. We need a little more info. What size is it? Spinet? Console? Grand?

The only way to tell its condition is to have it inspected by a qualified piano technician. Everything else is just a guess. Considering the price of the piano, it may not be worth it, however.

Let me just say this, a +50 y/o Gulbransen would not be my first choice. From that era, and at that price, you would be better looking for a Baldwin, Hamilton, or Acrosonic. If you can go up to ~$1K, you would have much better options.

Good luck with your search and keep us posted.

Marty in Minnesota

It's much easier to bash a Steinway than it is to play one.
S