2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Cheeto717, 12 invisible), 1,880 guests, and 264 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Hrochan Offline OP
OP Offline
Hello everybody smile
I have been playing the piano for 3 years now. Last October, my schedule got really busy and I told my teacher I needed a break from my lessons. Some other stuff happened later and I ended up being 9 months without lessons, just playing pieces I know and learning new ones occasionally (no classical music, don't wanna butcher it) to keep in shape.
I want to start lessons again now, but I am going to study at the Univesity of Edinburgh in September, a 5-year programme (I am from the Czech republic). While this is a dream coming true, I am really sad about my piano playing. It seems I will be in Czech for about 3 weeks during Christmas and then 3 and a half months in summer. I am going to have my digital piano shipped to Scotland, plus there are university music rooms available, so the instrument itself is not an issue. My upright will stay at home.
Now, lessons are really expensive in Scotland compared to Czech and I could only afford one each 3-4 weeks. When I'm in Czech for my holiday, I can easily go twice a week if I want to. Do you have any suggestions for this situation? Is there a point in atteding lessons while in Czech, getting suggestions about what to learn when away etc., and then catching up when I return? Is there anyone here who has faced the same problem? smile
Thanks very much.