2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
36 members (Burkey, clothearednincompo, almo82, dorfmouse, daz100, FloRi89, AZNpiano, 9 invisible), 345 guests, and 384 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
1910 Ludwig Upright
#211317 02/17/04 02:49 PM
lisa11 Offline OP
OP Offline
I'm a newbie to the Forum...I have been given a 1910 Ludwig Upright, ornate carved wood front. Not a pro, but it plays beautifully! Only one key not performing.

Trying to estimate value, because it's current location is Austin, TX , but wish to move it to my new home outside of Houston. Just want to make sure it's worth the moving costs. Any ideas, info would be greatly appreciated.

Re: 1910 Ludwig Upright
#211318 02/17/04 03:22 PM
P
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
P
It is very hard to judge the value of a piano without seeing it in person. Is it worth enough to you to have a tuner/technician come give it a look-see? You might have him or her actually tune it and investigate the "not performing" key as well.

A tuning will run you between $75 and $150. You should be able to talk the tuner into giving you an estimate of the piano's value at the same time.

Of course, in empirical terms, anything is worth what someone else is willing to pay for it. Does this instrument have sentimental value? What would you have been willing to pay for it from a store? If you don't move it, how much would you expect someone else to pay for it?