Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Hurricane Irma & Our Piano Friends!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Tuning a Piano
How to Tune Pianos
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Schumann's 4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Who's Online Now
90 registered members (ando, accordeur, alfredo capurso, Andrei Kuznetsov, anotherscott, ArtlessArt, 22 invisible), 1,768 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2110457 - 06/30/13 05:14 AM Who uses headphone socket to record from?  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
Northern England.
On my peeann-oh I have to do this, (no other output) and I like the results although a pure "digital piano" sound seems not to be on the cards; Pianoteq fills that gap quite nicely. I`d be interested in hearing others who do the same . . .and the results. Are you happy with them?


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2110469 - 06/30/13 06:07 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 538
o0Ampy0o Offline
500 Post Club Member
o0Ampy0o  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 538
Don't you have a Yamaha DGX 630 with USB?

If so, that would connect you to a computer and Audacity for a simple and free recording solution.

[Linked Image]

Connecting the DGX 630 to a computer page 105 of manual.

#2110476 - 06/30/13 06:22 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: o0Ampy0o]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
Northern England.
The USB is USB2 output which doesn`t include audio. So I can transmit MIDI data files but that`s all. All saved songs are the same; playback through the piano is ok - which means headphone socket. The new 650 model has audio outputs that mine doesn`t have (Gallic Shrug)


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2110480 - 06/30/13 06:27 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 538
o0Ampy0o Offline
500 Post Club Member
o0Ampy0o  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 538
OK I wasn't thinking about that when I suggested using Audacity. (You mentioned Pianoteq even so I really missed it linking to hook up directions). You can transmit MIDI to a DAW to record. It won't be the piano's internal sounds which is what you may be specifically wanting to do.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2110660 - 06/30/13 03:04 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 237
jarosujo Offline
Full Member
jarosujo  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 237
Slovakia
I tried it as my DP doesn't have line-out (which should be more suitable for recording than headphone-out) and was not happy. I think I used Audacity and there was some noise in recording. But my headphones works fine with DP, so it was probably software problem. I am using DAW with vintage D for recording now and it works quite well. Big advantage is I can do some touch-up as it is midi recording :-)


Yamaha NP-V80 (sold)
Yamaha DGX640 (sold)
Kawai CL-36
Pianoteq Standard + Intel NUC DC3217BY + Sennheiser HD598 + Fostex PM0.4n + NI Audio 2
#2110778 - 06/30/13 06:33 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: jarosujo]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
Northern England.
"Big advantage is I can do some touch-up as it is midi recording :-)"

Some touch ups?? WHAAAAT?? (how d`ya do `em? cool)


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2110781 - 06/30/13 06:39 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 538
o0Ampy0o Offline
500 Post Club Member
o0Ampy0o  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 538
Peter,

Sometimes I cannot tell whether you are joking or serious. If you want to know how to touch up a MIDI recording in a DAW, basically, it is like moving bar graphs and aligning them with a grid. You can also cut or copy and paste a note with a particular attack and replace or place it wherever you want it. You change the key by pasting it in a different position on the grid.

smile

#2110830 - 06/30/13 08:06 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,025
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,025
Connecticut, USA
"touch ups?" confused

Forget playing, let's just hand draw the notes in a midi file and record with your favorite software piano. Oh heck, why did I buy a digital piano in the first place???



Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2110975 - 07/01/13 03:54 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: o0Ampy0o]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
Northern England.
Ampy, I was guessing as much. But I`m shocked! I really wonder if I might be tempted to do the same . . . . .No. I think I`d rather give up and do something else . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2111122 - 07/01/13 11:11 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,494
pv88 Offline
3000 Post Club Member
pv88  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,494
@peterws,

Here is an example of a recording I have done at the Kawai CA95 using only a single audio cable from the headphone jack to the computer in which I record directly into Audacity.

I also monitor the recording by listening to the playing through a pair of headphones from the 2nd headphone jack:

https://www.box.com/s/n5sejsycnhkhz2chl86h

#2111129 - 07/01/13 11:25 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,025
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,025
Connecticut, USA
I found that the recording process can vary greatly based on the volume settings, in both Audacity and the DP. I have yet to find the sweet spot for my setup.

Another issue I have come across is that I get much more "noise" when using Audacity vs. my DAW (Mixcraft), with same settings.

Edit: others have had similar issues with Audacity (from reviewing several piano forums).

Last edited by scorpio; 07/01/13 11:26 AM.

Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2112275 - 07/03/13 03:59 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: pv88]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
Northern England.
pv88
Thanks for that. Great recording, nothing lacking there. The piano sparkles nicely. That`s set my mind at rest, anyway - I have a piano that is bloody unique! Like somebody`s thrown a tub o` treacle into the mix. ..

Last edited by peterws; 07/03/13 04:00 PM.

"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2112280 - 07/03/13 04:04 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
Northern England.
Scorpio, I wonder if the noise you encounter is due to an earth loop? My piano has no earth . . .I had this trouble when using an earthed external amplifier with an earthed laptop. I disconnected the laptop earth and all was well.


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2112300 - 07/03/13 04:28 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,095
Recaredo Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Recaredo  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 1,095
Granada (Spain)
I make my recordings from the headphone socket to the audio input on the computer, but I am not very pleased with the results.

I wonder if this kind of devices could improve the sound quality

http://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_xenyx_302_usb.htm

Last edited by Recaredo; 07/03/13 04:31 PM. Reason: link in english
#2112302 - 07/03/13 04:31 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,025
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,025
Connecticut, USA
peterws, At first I thought the earth loop was an issue, too. I made sure everything was grounded. But, I get no noise (same settings and setup) with Mixcraft. This has been discussed ad nauseum by the Kyle Landry followers. Then again, there are more that have no issues with Audacity.

Having said all that, most - if not all - of my recording issues is how I (beginner) play. I think I discovered I really don't hit the keys hard enough. As I mentioned somewhere else, getting a good clean recording has been my white whale. Although I decided I need to first learn how to play. HAHA!

Thanks for the idea and comment.



Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2112305 - 07/03/13 04:36 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
Northern England.
" I made sure everything was grounded. "

The idea is that nothing is grounded! Just don`t go touching any metal bits . . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2112334 - 07/03/13 05:53 PM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Daniel Corban Offline
Full Member
Daniel Corban  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Canada
It's possible that the resistance your computer, or whatever device, has on its input is causing the line noise if you do not hear it via headphones. Piano amps seem to be sensitive to this sort of thing. I assume if you are using the balanced line out from your piano, it may not have this problem.


Playing: Yamaha GC2
#2113041 - 07/05/13 12:02 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
p.elvis Offline
Junior Member
p.elvis  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 7

#2113080 - 07/05/13 03:43 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
de cajon Offline
Full Member
de cajon  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
London, UK
Originally Posted by peterws
" I made sure everything was grounded. "

The idea is that nothing is grounded! Just don`t go touching any metal bits . . .


If nothing is grounded, don't touch a thing. And don't put your face anywhere near a microphone!

The idea is to have one item grounded and for everything else to take their ground from that. You want a ground chain but not a ground loop.

I suppose the higher voltage over here makes us more careful. I wouldn't want to go sucking on 230V from a microphone. [Edit] Hang on, you're in England! And still alive![/Edit]

Last edited by jdeacon; 07/05/13 03:45 AM.

Yamaha C3X SH
#2113088 - 07/05/13 04:09 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: de cajon]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,474
Northern England.
Microphone shocks are common in our country; old wiring is usually to blame. Our singer got his when he touched his Gee-tar strings . . . I pulled out the plug for him!


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2113090 - 07/05/13 04:32 AM Re: Who uses headphone socket to record from? [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 409
UKIkarus Offline
Full Member
UKIkarus  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 409
England, South East
Originally Posted by scorpio
peterws, At first I thought the earth loop was an issue, too. I made sure everything was grounded. But, I get no noise (same settings and setup) with Mixcraft. This has been discussed ad nauseum by the Kyle Landry followers. Then again, there are more that have no issues with Audacity.

Having said all that, most - if not all - of my recording issues is how I (beginner) play. I think I discovered I really don't hit the keys hard enough. As I mentioned somewhere else, getting a good clean recording has been my white whale. Although I decided I need to first learn how to play. HAHA!

Thanks for the idea and comment.



With regards to audacity producing noise in recordings I can vouch for that, I happen to be the same UKIkarus that administrates/moderates the KyleLandry website and have seen quite a few posts regarding such issues both on there and on other sites.

I have given it a shot myself over a USB audio/midi cable from my MOX88 which should have no noise at all being digital in nature and it does indeed add a small amount to the recordings, as such I have used Cubase since.

As for recording quality you will of course (as I'm sure you are aware) want to get the clearest and dare I say it (loudest without peaking/noise) sound you can get from the source straight into the software and if anything tweak the volume etc DOWN from there unless absolutely necessary, obviously less noise at the source results in less noise when processed smile


Originally Posted by peterws
Microphone shocks are common in our country; old wiring is usually to blame. Our singer got his when he touched his Gee-tar strings . . . I pulled out the plug for him!



Cannot say I have ever experienced a shock from one yet, let's hope it remains that way laugh

Last edited by UKIkarus; 07/05/13 04:53 AM.

Yamaha MOX8 Synthesizer

[Linked Image]

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
Women composers I admire
by GillesJ. 09/24/17 08:08 PM
Hailun H-5 Piano opinion
by DesertFox. 09/24/17 07:57 PM
Grotrian Studio 118
by plumpfingers. 09/24/17 07:03 PM
What are you playing at the moment ?
by Moo :). 09/24/17 06:46 PM
Considering the AvantGrand N2
by bSharp(C)yclist. 09/24/17 06:08 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics182,008
Posts2,659,902
Members88,886
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0