Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!


SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Modern Piano Moving
Modern Piano Moving
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
Who's Online Now
115 registered members (alfredo capurso, accordeur, Albunea, Adypiano, amad23, 31 invisible), 2,001 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2110669 - 06/30/13 03:36 PM Yamaha P-155 Users  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
Connecticut, USA
For anyone with a Yamaha P-155, I have a few questions I hope you can help me with:

1) What volume setting do you use when you practice? I want to keep my volume the same so I can work on my dynamics, but I am not sure what is the correct level.

2) Sometimes during practice I record with the metronome. Is there a way to set the time signature to 3 when recording? It always reverts back to 4 when I press the record button. I have no trouble with the metronome when I do not record.

3) Are there are settings that you have found to be more optimal than the defaults? I have been playing around with different stuff and curious if anyone has found something they like.

Thank you for you input.


Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2110719 - 06/30/13 05:13 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 245
starbug Offline
Full Member
starbug  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 245
Scotland, United Kingdom, Sol,...
1) I usually stick it around 50%, but mostly I use headphones

2) Sorry, no idea frown

3) I play around with it a lot, sometimes though settings can change without warning, especially during recording.. maybe a little bug. If you find yours doing this, power up with the furthers right key held down. This resets to default and clears bugs.. although this might clear User recordings (not built in ones tho!).

#2111424 - 07/02/13 08:37 AM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Daniel Corban Offline
Full Member
Daniel Corban  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Canada
I don't have the same piano, so this is from my experience on another Yamaha. The metronome time signature resets to default every time I change the destination file. For example, if I am working with file U01, set the metronome to 3/4, then change to U02, the metronome resets to defaults and I have to change it again.

However, my default is no time signature, with no downbeat. I would assume yours should be also. I checked your manual and don't see the time signature marked as a setting that is saved when powered off, but I do see that your piano defaults to saving user settings. You may wish to reset to all defaults by holding down the far right key while powering on.

So, I believe your metronome should be resetting every time you change the destination for recording, but I do not know why it is choosing 4/4 instead of 0.

As for the volume, it would depend on the efficiency of your headphones or speakers. You have a 12 watt amplifier with 12cm speakers. I kept my 6 watt Arius (12cm speakers) at near maximum and it still wasn't loud enough. I would have kept it louder, but it got distorted beyond two notches from the max. My Clavinova (40 watt into 16cm) is pretty much always at two notches from max, and is rather loud. It does go to max without distortion, but I find that is a little too loud when paying forte.


Playing: Yamaha GC2
#2111514 - 07/02/13 11:19 AM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: Daniel Corban]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
Connecticut, USA
Daniel, thank you. I have tried a number of things, been working on it for months actually. I just figured maybe someone knew a "trick" to get it to work. I can easily set it to 0 or 4, but I can not set it for a time signature 3/4 or 6/8, for instance. And again, it is only with the record function, it reverts right back to 4, even after I set it. It is not that big of a deal.


Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2111802 - 07/02/13 07:56 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Daniel Corban Offline
Full Member
Daniel Corban  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Canada
I was using my recording function quite a bit tonight and had this problem! I figured out what is causing it. If I press "record", then change any metronome settings before I play, the settings revert back after I am finished. The solution is to adjust the metronome settings first, then press record. Basically, the piano forgets any changes I make while recording is engaged.

I don't know if this will help you, but it consistently worked for me.


Playing: Yamaha GC2
#2111826 - 07/02/13 08:46 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: Daniel Corban]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
Connecticut, USA
Originally Posted by Daniel Corban
The solution is to adjust the metronome settings first, then press record.

That is how I thought it should work. But for me, the tempo stays at what I set it at, but the time signature reverts right back to 4. It's either a bug, or just a P-155 issue. I really should contact Yamaha.


Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2116102 - 07/11/13 11:54 AM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Daniel Corban Offline
Full Member
Daniel Corban  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Canada
I am now having it happen to me with my latest attempt to record.

I start with a fresh user MIDI song. Default metronome is no downbeat. I record my song. No downbeat is heard while recording. Press stop to finish recording. Immediately play back song and turn on metronome, and it has reset to 4/4! The tempo setting stays correct.

However, I am able to consistency reproduce this. It only happens if I record with no downbeat. If I set the downbeat to anything other than zero before recording, the setting "sticks". It's as though the song requires a downbeat, even if you don't want it. I usually use a downbeat, which is why I never encountered it before.

I can't imagine this is intentional. I will send an email to Yamaha at some point to see what they have to say.


Playing: Yamaha GC2
#2116112 - 07/11/13 12:20 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: Daniel Corban]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
Connecticut, USA
Thanks Daniel, I just emailed Yamaha with my issue.


Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2116246 - 07/11/13 06:06 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
Connecticut, USA
I received a prompt response from Yamaha support.

With the Yamaha P-155 your only options for time signature, when using the metronome and record functions at the same time, are 0 and 4.



Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2116251 - 07/11/13 06:16 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,886
toddy Offline
2000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,886
Portugal
Originally Posted by scorpio
I received a prompt response from Yamaha support.

With the Yamaha P-155 your only options for time signature, when using the metronome and record functions at the same time, are 0 and 4.



That's rather a poor show, isn't it? What if you want to do a Waltz? And if you happened to be a Dave Brubeck fan (not to mention Stravinsky & co), you should steer well clear of the P155.


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49

Reaper / NI Komplete 9 Ult. / Focusrite Saffire 24
W7, i7 4770, 16GB / Monitors: Yamaha HS7s .

Prudence is a rich ugly old maid courted by Incapacity. He who desires, but acts not, breeds pestilence.
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven & heck
#2116311 - 07/11/13 07:57 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: toddy]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,011
Connecticut, USA
I agree that not being able to set the time signature to 3 is rather odd - again, only when using the record button, otherwise you can.

BUT, the Yamaha P-155 is a solid board and this is not a deal breaker by any means. For $8 you can get a digital metronome.


Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2116334 - 07/11/13 09:09 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: scorpio]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,886
toddy Offline
2000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,886
Portugal
yes - i'm joking, sort of. but really, the internal metronome is - or can be - vital for recordings with more than one track. it annoys me that on some sequencers or digital recorders, it can be quite difficult to change the time signatures. they assume we'll only ever want two or four timings.

But i'm genuinely surprised that you really can't change it on the p155, which as you say is a great digital piano. The programming for this facility would be negligible.

Of course you can do everything much more easily and flexibly using a computer and any number of recorders available (DAWs), some of them free.

Today I came up with an idea which turns out to be 13/4 (or four bars of 3/4 plus one of 1 over 4. If I'd only had a p155, I would have forgotten it by now.

....just looked on my piano - admittedly, it only does two weird timings - 5/4 and 7/4 (also 6/4 and 9/8 which are fairly rare)...but not 13/4 or 13/8. Pity!

Last edited by toddy; 07/11/13 09:20 PM.

Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49

Reaper / NI Komplete 9 Ult. / Focusrite Saffire 24
W7, i7 4770, 16GB / Monitors: Yamaha HS7s .

Prudence is a rich ugly old maid courted by Incapacity. He who desires, but acts not, breeds pestilence.
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven & heck
#2116597 - 07/12/13 12:56 PM Re: Yamaha P-155 Users [Re: toddy]  
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Daniel Corban Offline
Full Member
Daniel Corban  Offline
Full Member

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 215
Canada
That is rather odd. I am able to record with any time signature other than zero, and it is saved internally.

When you play back your recordings, are they always 4/4? I have a few I made with 2/4 and 3/4. If I turn on the metronome while they play, it is set appropriately.


Playing: Yamaha GC2

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
(ad)
Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


(ad)
Pianoteq
Grotrian Concert
Royal
for Pianoteq out now
What's Hot!!
Why Do You Play The Piano?
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
sustain pedal problem on Kawai MP11
by drpharmer. 06/24/17 03:30 PM
Sojin Piano Advice
by nicr. 06/24/17 03:16 PM
Piano Break In Period Length
by iObsessed. 06/24/17 02:53 PM
Stopping Sound Board Buzz
by That Guy. 06/24/17 02:16 PM
Relatively quiet NY Steinway D
by SMA55. 06/24/17 12:59 PM
(ad)
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics180,426
Posts2,638,670
Members88,173
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Check It Out!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0