2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., David B, 9 invisible), 1,260 guests, and 290 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
OP Offline
J
So it's stupid hot in San Diego today so I figure it might be a good day to "shop" for a piano and try some grands out in an air conditioned show room. I have an upright a Sohmer 45 that I bought for $500 and that sounds really nice. I am a beginner pianist for the most part.

I tried a number of different Steinways and I left not really feeling all that impressed. They sounded sort of thin and uncomplex to me. They played nice, had good sustain but none of them made me go "wow".

The one that I played that I thought sounded the best was actually one of the smallest a sub 6 foot Mason and Hamlin. It had a delightful tone, rich bass singing trebles and had that pleasing complex resonance the best pianos have.

I truly expected to be in awe of the pianos I played but wasn't. Other than maybe the Mason and Hamlin none of them made me want to (whether I could or not) ditch my up upright and write a zero-heavy check.

Maybe I am just not good enough to bring out the sound of the instrument, but I have a pretty good ear so I don't know. Maybe just the showroom.

Anyone ever have an experience like this?

Last edited by johnnysd; 06/28/13 10:16 PM.
If you don't have experience with grand pianos invite a pianist to help you test the pianos. Technique is crucial to get the correct sound out of a piano.

Platinum Supporter until October 5 2014
7000 Post Club Member

7000 Post Club Member