2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
25 members (drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, Kawai James, 8 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 138 of 140 1 2 136 137 138 139 140
S
S
Hi knotty!

@apples
You're right both tunes are a lot simpler. Especially piece #2 is perfect for me to learn it just by ear.

@Woods
Here's a total beginner but I think Dave Frank's material is fun to work with. He presents you with just the right amount of information so you can enjoy the ride. Other books I looked into were either too technically demanding, too theoretical and offer very little guidance for a beginner. Now I can concentrate on playing music rather than worrying about how to learn and what to learn when.

S
S
Please have a look @ p. 49 bar 4 & 5 (book 1)

There you're supposed to hold the E below middle C for 2 bars (bar 4 to bar 5).
At the same time you're playing a Bmin7b5 chord in bar 5, voiced as B-D-A. So the E I'm supposed to hold comes right in between the chord notes of the Bmin7b5 chord? I guess that makes the chord effectively sound like
B-D-E-A. Is that ok if I add the E to the chord in my LH?

And two beats later same thing happens again with the E7 chord, played out as B-D-E-G#. Only this time the E is already there in the chord.

The other questions is for bar 4. The Amin6 and its missing notes in the bass clef is probably covered by A and E.

Last edited by simou; 05/28/13 03:14 PM.
C
2000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
2000 Post Club Member
C
Sorry simou, I don't know what you mean about holding the E.