Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Fall 2017
Who's Online Now
81 registered members (Almaviva, ambrozy, andyhuang, accordeur, 2Keys, 23 invisible), 1,728 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2108350 - 06/26/13 11:12 AM What DAW are you using ?  
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
fatorouli Offline
Junior Member
fatorouli  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Sweden
Hi! i am new here and i have played mostly on my keyboard, but i am going to buy a digital piano in the fall. I am just wondering what DAW you guys are using? I have been using Cubase for years for my other project but i am interested to know if you feel that there is a DAW out there that is better and cheaper or more suitable for piano and classical music (perhaps you actually get the best plugin for the price, i dunno)


I am actually on a keyboard at the moment...
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2108381 - 06/26/13 11:55 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,163
Morodiene Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Morodiene  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,163
Boynton Beach, FL
Are you looking for MIDI controlling/sequencing, or using software sounds (VSTs)? Cubase is great, but it depends what you want to do.


private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
#2108395 - 06/26/13 12:19 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: Morodiene]  
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
de cajon Offline
Full Member
de cajon  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 191
London, UK
Since buying Cakewalk years ago, I've stuck with it. It's now up to version Sonar X2 or some such.

However, if I was starting over, I'd give some consideration to Reaper, which an open-source piece of free software. My production station (an Open Labs Neko XXL) came with it pre-loaded and it seems pretty impressive for something that's free. I keep saying I ought to learn it properly and maybe stop paying money to Cakewalk.


Yamaha C3X SH
#2108463 - 06/26/13 01:41 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 539
o0Ampy0o Offline
500 Post Club Member
o0Ampy0o  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 539
I have Reaper, Abelton Live, Cubase and Logic Pro but the one I use the most is Garageband.

smile

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2108519 - 06/26/13 03:14 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: o0Ampy0o]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 458
Kbeaumont Offline
Full Member
Kbeaumont  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 458
Virginia, USA
Originally Posted by o0Ampy0o
I have Reaper, Abelton Live, Cubase and Logic Pro but the one I use the most is Garageband.

smile


+1
For quick recording of ideas and using loops its a great app with a dead simple interface.
And you can always transfer it to the big boys.


A long long time ago, I can still remember
How that music used to make me smile....
#2108578 - 06/26/13 04:38 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,163
Morodiene Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Morodiene  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,163
Boynton Beach, FL
I'm just learning how to use Logic Pro myself. I have tried Reaper but I like how Logic looks a bit cleaner IMO. I used to use Cakewalk back in the day. Loved it!


private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
#2108630 - 06/26/13 06:00 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 425
kiedysktos. Offline
Full Member
kiedysktos.  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 425
Europe, Poland
I love simple but powerful tools - that's why I still use MS Paint smile
So Audacity for most users will be enough, it's free. For VST/MIDI I use Mulab, also free.

But of course pro tools is great smile


Roland FP-4
#2108639 - 06/26/13 06:13 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: kiedysktos.]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 730
PossumES8SP280 Offline
500 Post Club Member
PossumES8SP280  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 730
Just got my UR22 today which came with Cubase AI6; but I also purchased Mixcraft- had a ton of coupons and amex gift cards so paid around $80 for each item out of pocket


Roland Juno Gi
Casio PX-130
Korg Krome 61
Korg SP280
Kawai ES8
Rokit KRK 6 monitors
MXL V67G microphone
#2108753 - 06/26/13 08:56 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,030
toddy Offline
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,030
Portugal
My first computer recorder was Cubase which I used a lot until version 2 point something. It was marvelous and, afaics, led the way for virtually all digital recorders that followed.

That was in about 1989. Since then there has been a 24 year hiatus. Partly this was because, once my 1 Megabyte Atari computer (a modern classic) broke down, there was nothing to record on. Switching to PC I've had terrible problems with Windows operating systems and audio recording - problems with mere MIDI recording, too. The whole idea of smoothly streaming data seems to have been anathema to the Windows developers - especially in the pro audio area. I'm now running the DAW on a 2 X 3.4GHz Xeon system with 8 GB RAM, no network, no clutter, new W7 o/s (this is like having eight thousand Atari ST computers linked together!) but latency and timing stability is still a problem, ladies and gentlemen. Though the end does seen to be in sight now.

(and I'm not even fussy - I don't mind putting up with a fair amount of crap and slop - and the odd 15ms lacuna here and there just has to be coped with by gritting your teeth. For example, I've just discovered that if I record incoming audio from the DP, the DAW slows down its playback rate unless I allow a 512 sample buffer, which causes a large latency problem - but only with the incoming audio data - the stuff in the computer - VSTi's - run fine at 128 or, with heavy use, 256 sample buffers. This means there will have to be a whole extra layer of latency compensation just for externally sourced material. This is before you even start worrying about music or sound quality! If you like this sort of thing - go for Windows. I love it.)

Anyway, my DAW is Reaper (which is not free, by the way - I paid €40 for it). It has a lot of online support and forum activity and constant fixes and updates (free, of course). It is not very easy or intuitive with midi recording, I don't think. There are lots of options and some of the defaults are strange.

But overall it's great - with a lot of work, I think you can do almost anything with it. There are lots of routing possibilities, ways of setting up the desk and plug-ins and editing suits etc and various export/mastering/rendering options beyond wave and mp3. Their business model seems healthy and based on sound thinking.


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / NI K9 Ult. / Focusrite Saffire 24
W7, i7 4770, 16GB / Yamaha HS7s / HD598

Prudence is a rich ugly old maid courted by Incapacity. He who desires, but acts not, breeds pestilence.
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven & heck
#2108759 - 06/26/13 09:08 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,502
R0B Offline
1000 Post Club Member
R0B  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,502
Australia
+1 for Reaper.

After being a long time Cubase user, I found Reaper a little strange to use at first, but soon realised that in Reaper, 'right clicking' is your best friend smile


Rob
#2108761 - 06/26/13 09:13 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,030
toddy Offline
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,030
Portugal
Yes - right clicking is essential! You can also program your own keyboard instructions into it which can give you useful shortcuts. This is under Actions»Action list.


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / NI K9 Ult. / Focusrite Saffire 24
W7, i7 4770, 16GB / Yamaha HS7s / HD598

Prudence is a rich ugly old maid courted by Incapacity. He who desires, but acts not, breeds pestilence.
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven & heck
#2108774 - 06/26/13 09:47 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,035
scorpio Offline
1000 Post Club Member
scorpio  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,035
Connecticut, USA
For what it's worth, I use Mixcraft for recording. I had terrible issues with Audacity as a recording vehicle, a lot of noise was being introduced on the track. With Mixcraft I get a very clean recording; and it's really easy to use.


Kawai MP11 : JBL LSR305 : Focusrite 2i4 : Pianoteq Standard

We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams. Willy Wonka


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#2109472 - 06/28/13 04:27 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Seasider53 Offline
Junior Member
Seasider53  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Lancashire, UK
I started off with Ableton Lite which came free with an M-Audio arranger keyboard. But I never really got Ito it. Running on a Windows PC it never really seemed to be happy.

Then I got a Mac which came with GarageBand. I thought I would learn GarageBand then move up to Logic Pro when I needed more features. But so far I haven't. GB does everything I need. laugh

Edited to add: I've also tried Reaper, which I liked and found easy to use. If I didn't have GarageBand with the progression to Logic Pro, I would probably use Reaper.

Last edited by Seasider53; 06/28/13 05:01 AM.

You can teach an old dog new tricks!
Yamaha PSR-S650 as midi controller
Roland FP 80
#2109527 - 06/28/13 07:55 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 918
BeccaBb Offline
500 Post Club Member
BeccaBb  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 918
Fort Frances, On Canada
I have Tracktion 4 which came free with my Mackie mixer. However I haven't used it yet. Eventually I will get brave and try this out. LOL


Becca
Began: 01-12-11
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
Roland RD300NX
1947 Gulbranson spinet piano
#2109537 - 06/28/13 08:09 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: Seasider53]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,163
Morodiene Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Morodiene  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,163
Boynton Beach, FL
Originally Posted by Seasider53
I started off with Ableton Lite which came free with an M-Audio arranger keyboard. But I never really got Ito it. Running on a Windows PC it never really seemed to be happy.

Then I got a Mac which came with GarageBand. I thought I would learn GarageBand then move up to Logic Pro when I needed more features. But so far I haven't. GB does everything I need. laugh

Edited to add: I've also tried Reaper, which I liked and found easy to use. If I didn't have GarageBand with the progression to Logic Pro, I would probably use Reaper.
I haven't tried using Garage Band even though it came with my Mac. What can it do vs. Logic Pro?


private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
#2109574 - 06/28/13 09:21 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: Morodiene]  
Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Seasider53 Offline
Junior Member
Seasider53  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Lancashire, UK
Originally Posted by Morodiene
Originally Posted by Seasider53
I started off with Ableton Lite which came free with an M-Audio arranger keyboard. But I never really got Ito it. Running on a Windows PC it never really seemed to be happy.

Then I got a Mac which came with GarageBand. I thought I would learn GarageBand then move up to Logic Pro when I needed more features. But so far I haven't. GB does everything I need. laugh

Edited to add: I've also tried Reaper, which I liked and found easy to use. If I didn't have GarageBand with the progression to Logic Pro, I would probably use Reaper.
I haven't tried using Garage Band even though it came with my Mac. What can it do vs. Logic Pro?


It does a lot less than Logic Pro, as is to be expected in a free version compared to a full-price program. It is a simplified basic package which gives you enough to learn the principles of using a DAW.

The Mac version is a different beast altogether from the IPad app. The Mac looks and works more like a standard DAW and is well worth a look.


You can teach an old dog new tricks!
Yamaha PSR-S650 as midi controller
Roland FP 80
#2109590 - 06/28/13 09:57 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: Seasider53]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,163
Morodiene Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Morodiene  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,163
Boynton Beach, FL
Originally Posted by Seasider53
Originally Posted by Morodiene
Originally Posted by Seasider53
I started off with Ableton Lite which came free with an M-Audio arranger keyboard. But I never really got Ito it. Running on a Windows PC it never really seemed to be happy.

Then I got a Mac which came with GarageBand. I thought I would learn GarageBand then move up to Logic Pro when I needed more features. But so far I haven't. GB does everything I need. laugh

Edited to add: I've also tried Reaper, which I liked and found easy to use. If I didn't have GarageBand with the progression to Logic Pro, I would probably use Reaper.
I haven't tried using Garage Band even though it came with my Mac. What can it do vs. Logic Pro?


It does a lot less than Logic Pro, as is to be expected in a free version compared to a full-price program. It is a simplified basic package which gives you enough to learn the principles of using a DAW.

The Mac version is a different beast altogether from the IPad app. The Mac looks and works more like a standard DAW and is well worth a look.
OK, thanks! Since I've already delved into logic though, I guess I'll keep doing that and learn GB later. Only so much techie stuff my brain can handle at once!


private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
#2109596 - 06/28/13 10:10 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: Seasider53]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,030
toddy Offline
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,030
Portugal
Originally Posted by Seasider53
.... I thought I would learn GarageBand then move up to Logic Pro when I needed more features........

... I've also tried Reaper, which I liked and found easy to use. If I didn't have GarageBand with the progression to Logic Pro, I would probably use Reaper.


Yes, I would do exactly the same if I had a Mac. I had a version of Logic years ago - it was called Logic Audio Discovery. It never worked but that was a Windows problem, as outlined above. But it looked good.

Reaper may be easy to use in the main but I find it a bit fiddly. The cursor is always jumping to new location given half a chance (double click on the band sends it back to zero, though, which is handy). And midi tracks have to be laboriously set up (unlike vst or audio ones).

But I love its flexibility, price, attitude to development and sales.


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / NI K9 Ult. / Focusrite Saffire 24
W7, i7 4770, 16GB / Yamaha HS7s / HD598

Prudence is a rich ugly old maid courted by Incapacity. He who desires, but acts not, breeds pestilence.
William Blake, The Marriage of Heaven & heck
#2109614 - 06/28/13 10:35 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Dr Popper Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Dr Popper  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,722
Hancock Park LA (not again)
I'm mainly a Logic user.. Although I am often forced into PT depending on who I'm working with. I've recently been playing with Reaper and Studio One and both have their advantages.


"I'm still an idiot and I'm still in love" - Blue Sofa - The Plugz 1981 (Tito Larriva)
Disclosure : I am professionally associated with Arturia but my sentiments are my own only.
#2109900 - 06/28/13 07:13 PM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: fatorouli]  
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
I use Reaper. Easy to use and not a bad price.

#2110985 - 07/01/13 03:56 AM Re: What DAW are you using ? [Re: Scott Hamlin]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 708
Newman Offline
500 Post Club Member
Newman  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 708
Australia
Sonar by Cakewalk. I've been using it for quite a few years. I looked at Reaper only a few weeks ago but after spending so much time learning Sonar I'm reluctant to change.


Guitar since 1966. Piano (Kawai DP80) since 2011.

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River & Ritmuller
Pearl River Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
Experience with Redbird, Concertpianos, and “Maestro”?
by Duke of Dunning. 11/21/17 06:26 PM
Fujan tuning lever lost
by Toni Goldener. 11/21/17 03:16 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics182,876
Posts2,673,406
Members89,168
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0