2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
52 members (Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, 5 invisible), 1,283 guests, and 277 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I have been playing on an Yamaha Arius YDP-S31 for three months. The sound is fine and the feel is okay. I started shopping for a new piano a few weeks ago.

I wanted to upgrade for a few reasons:
1) As I advanced, I noticed the keys didn't seem as responsive to dynamics as I would like.
2) The output is rather low, both on speakers and headphones.
3) The stereo separation is exaggerated. I can hear a clearly defined panning point when I get around middle C.
4) The pedal is plastic and noisy. Also, the sustain effects when using it sound too heavy.
5) The controls are minimal with no display. I have to hold buttons and push arbitrary keys on the keyboard to change basic settings like metronome tempo.

This piano uses the older method of sampling, so naturally, I assumed the current Clavinovas, which are supposedly two generations advanced would sound better. I tested them at the store and really liked the feel of the keys. They had the features I needed without other useless stuff. They seemed solid and sounded fine both with and without headphones. So, I ordered a CLP-440. The 430 is "missing" key-off samples, string resonance, etc. I figured the extra $700 was worth these features plus the ivory keys.