2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 13 invisible), 1,868 guests, and 261 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I used to take lessons as a child 10+ years ago. I think I was at Fur Elise level or something, but I don't really remember anymore. I've started playing again for about a year, recently bought a nice upright and made a video.

My technique now is mostly self-taught so can anyone give me some comments on how I'm doing? Posture, height, wrist stuff? Thanks.

I'm also wondering if I should get a teacher. I'm interested in playing more contemporary pieces, mostly video game music (but good complex arrangements of it). Although now I've become also become interested in learning Lizst Consolation No. 3 and some Debussy, Clair de Lune and Arabesque (I'd also like to hear some recommendations for similar songs). But some of the rhythm and technique is a bit challenging for me, although I'm sure I can learn it fine self-taught. So maybe I can find a teacher who can work with me on these "classical" style pieces while I self-learn other pieces.

I guess I'd like to learn some theory too, to be able to write/improv arrangements like the one in my video. Jazz piano is very interesting for me but seems difficult. Would a teacher teach both classical stuff for technique and some basic jazz piano?

Anyway here is the video: I also submitted another piece to the latest recital (I'm #20)